Giving Up the TV Trap- Part 1

Life is full of lessons

Sometimes we learn by experience.  Like the time I poured an extra cap-full of bubble-bath into my parent’s jetted tub and then subsequently nearly drowned in lavender-scented foam. 

We learn by our mistakes.  Taking a nap on a water tube, just as the ocean’s high tide is coming in, isn’t such a great idea.  Trust me. 

We learn by observing others.  Never make a cake without completely reading the instructions first.  (Thanks, Sarah!).  ;)

Sometimes, you even receive advise and learn lessons from others who have gone before.  Lessons they learned so that you can maybe avoid the experience and just walk away with the wisdom.  I’ve found that marriage and relationship advise seems to be the favorite topic of the wise.  Tips ranging from, “Don’t go to bed angry” or, “Communicate, communicate, communicate.” 

And we’re given the tips that will benefit our marriage.  Things like, “Nicole, you’ll be annoyed with Nate when you first get married, because he’ll forget to put his socks in the hamper.  Don’t worry, you’ll train him.”  And warnings such as, “Nate, when Nicole gets a glazed look in her eyes and starts to stuff her face with chocolate, just make any excuse necessary and get out of the house as quickly as possible.  Either that or don’t come home without roses.”

You know, the important lessons. 

But I’m surprised that no one took the time to warn us about one thing in particular.  The one thing that begins so innocent yet soon takes over.  The one thing that Nate and I are realizing we let take over.  The one-eyed, flashing monster.  Television.

Television isn’t in and of itself bad.  Let me start off by saying that.  I don’t have to be Dr. Phil or Oprah to say that with confidence.  It’s down-time.  Relaxation.  A moment to cuddle with someone special or to laugh with a friend.  It’s entertainment – same as reading, going to see a play, or listening to an orchestra.  It might not always broaden our horizons or challenge our intellect; but after a hectic-paced week, it’s often ‘just what the doctor ordered’. 

The thing is, it’s so convenient.  Too convenient.  Or at least it was for me and Nate…  Then we decided to give it up for 21 days.

 (…to be continued tomorrow).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Giving Up the TV Trap- Part 1

  1. allieksmith says:

    I loved reading what you learned from mistakes hahaha too funny about drowning in the bubble bath and the ocean.. plus making cakes! Ahh :) Good luck with giving up the TV :) Awesome idea!

  2. wow – giving it up for 21 days, that’s impressive! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  3. Tien says:

    i can’t imagine giving up TV for even a day!
    you guys are so brave lol..!
    looking forward to follow this interesting journey of yours….

  4. 21 Days! Wow…can’t wait to hear how you do!

  5. Looking forward to hearing more on this!

  6. I totally agree with you in that with me, TV sucks up my time without me even knowing it.

    It has been a year now since I started not watching a lot of TV, not by choice but because after I moved I was too lazy to get cable and so after work I would just go out for a run, read a book and then cook. I had my laptop to watch shows if I really wanted to.

    After a year, I don’t miss TV at all. I have it playing in the background while I’m cooking. I don’t follow a show religiously and I’m find with that.

    Good luck on the NO TV adventure.

  7. You can do it! I think this is such a great experience. I remember it being an eye opener for me last July, when I realized that I suddenly had 3 hrs. of time to do something. Anything! It felt totally foreign at first. :D

  8. Caitlyn says:

    That’s a good challenge! I have never given up TV, but I don’t watch much anymore. Over the past few years, I have lost the patience to sit in front of the TV and watch drama unfold for an hour (or even a half hour)! When I was younger, however, the thought of giving up the TV was unheard of.

Leave a Reply

