Sew… a needle pulling thread

So I thought that it was about time I provided an update on my adventures in learning how to sew….

About two weeks ago, I bought a little square of yellow and red fabric from JoAnn’s Fabric to practice on.

The end.

Yeah, I know, it’s a little bit pathetic, but this is as far as I’ve gotten.  In all honestly, this in itself felt like a pretty huge accomplishment.

Do you know how intimidating it is to walk through the fabric section of JoAnn’s Fabric when you have absolutely no idea how to sew?  I felt like an imposter.  Like a vegan walking through a butcher shop.  Like an animal hater going to the zoo.  Like my husband walking through the Hallmark store.

It just doesn’t happen!  It’s just not right!

So, yes, just buying the scrap material was a traumatic – and maybe a bit exhilarating — experience in itself.

I figured that it counted for at least two weeks of sewing practice.

But now that I’ve nearly taken up my two weeks, I decided that it was about time I read through the manual.  I’m not always so good about reading the instructions before I attempt something, but in this case I really have no choice.  There are a lot of pointy, shiny things on the machine that scare me.

And I’m pretty sure the bobbin is not going to be my friend.

The sad thing is that the Spanish instructions make about as much sense to me as the English ones do… and I don’t know how to read Spanish.   So I decided that there’s only one thing left for me to do.

Learn Chinese.

There is a very slight chance that their section of the manual booklet is easier to understand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sew… a needle pulling thread

  1. I have to pull out the manual every time I have to sew something. I always forget how to properly set up the sewing machine and how to change the tension and stuff.

  2. Meg says:

    Did you know that JoAnn’s has sewing classes? They aren’t very expensive and they have ones for even the newest beginners. You would love it!

  3. Oh, guess what, guess what?

    I just discovered that our sewing machine from WAY back works! Which means I can join you in your escapades. Which means we should take a class together…haha. :D

  4. I am thinking about taking a class. At least you have taken your sewing machine out of the box. Mine is sitting on a shelf, packed away, taunting me.

Leave a Reply

