We’re getting there…

Today was my first day back to work since the move.  It was a confusing morning, as I still don’t know where everything is and now I’m headed in a completely different direction when I turn onto the highway.  It’s a lot to get used to, but I think I’m going to enjoy it.  🙂   It kind of feels as though I’m on vacation in a rental home… yet I still need to go to work and — wow — this is a tiring vacation.  But it’s exciting too!  Change can be a good thing, and in this case it really is.

The exhaustion of physically working non-stop is setting in, so I came home later that evening with the determination to again make an easy dinner.  But I also want to steer away from the frozen, processed foods that we had resorted to these past few days.  Seriously, we may have well just stuck a straw into the ocean and gulped.  Talk about sodium over-load!  On moving day, my mom had left me with a bag of veggies so I turned that into a stir-fry.  Veggies, olive oil, garlic powder, and a dash of salt… Bingo!

I boiled / mashed some potatoes for a side and then baked some scallops for the first time ever!  It was super easy…  Just toss a pound of raw, bay scallops with a bit of melted butter.  Make a crumb topping of 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, teaspoon garlic powder, teaspoon onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon paprika.  Bake it for 20 minutes at 400 F.    I actually had time to tidy up a bit while it was cooking, as it didn’t require much watching / stirring.  (My kind of meal!). 

For the rest of the evening, we ran around putting misplaced items away and breaking down boxes.  I’m so tired and would love to take a break, but Nate keeps reminding me that the more we work on this, the faster it will get done.  The house really is coming together.  The living room is completely empty and you can actually see the carpet now.  I love how it’s a blank slate, just waiting for us to add our personal touch.   But wow, it’s tiring and bed will feel so good tonight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re getting there…

  1. Nicole!! YAY! :mrgreen: So happy to see your blog up and running. It’s going to be so much fun. 😀

    Oh, and I’m in love with your scallop dinner idea. I think mom and dad would love, love, love it. 😀 Actually, it would probably make a nice Valentines Dinner…hmm.

    When we go out on Saturday, I was thinking we could possibly show up to Panera with my giftcard too, by the way. Just an idea! 😀 See you then!

    Lovin’ the blog! 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

