Thank-you notes, Banana Bread, and Dreams

There’s nothing like the smell of banana bread baking in the oven to officially turn a house into a home.  I put three over-ripe bananas on my counter to good use and turned them into two breads — one for this week and one to be frozen for a future treat.  When I have a bit of extra time to spend in the kitchen, I try to take advantage of it by doubling the ingredients or choosing recipes that make more than Nate and I need.  That way I can freeze the extras and pull them out on a day that I might be a little more pressed for time.  It’s just one of the many goals I want to accomplish while adjusting to life in this new home.   I think my list just keeps growing every day, so if I’m not careful, I might begin to forget what they all are. 

Hmmmm, do you think that shopping for new clothes could be counted as a goal?  The closet is pretty empty…

This afternoon, I was able to write thank-you notes for the friends and family that helped us move into the house.  Although I graduated college with a degree in English, I have a hard time writing thank-you notes — always have and probably always will.  I tend to freeze up the minute I see the cute pile of notes in front of me.  One note will sound too sappy; another note will sound too serious.  I want everyone to receive a note that is specific and unique to them, so I put all of this pressure on myself as though they are going to grade me on my originality and cleverness.  Crazy, I know, but it’s just one of my quirks that I can’t shake.

This weekend was relaxing and a great pick-me-up after the craziness of last weekend.  It’s strange for me to recall that just last Sunday, Nate and I were surrounded by boxes, boxes, and more boxes!  Next weekend will be my first test as a hostess.  Two of our friends are coming over Friday night for dinner and a tour of the house.  On Saturday, my mom, sister, and possibly my aunt will be coming over for breakfast or lunch.  And so the entertaining begins!  I think I’m going to take it easy for now and go for a hearty, yet simple meal.  But I’d love to begin using themes and maybe even having parties where the food and accents all tie together perfectly.  It’ll happen… but for now, I dream.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank-you notes, Banana Bread, and Dreams

  1. You’re going to make such a great entertainer/hostess. 😀

    Oh, and the banana bread is making me drool. Seriously, it’s my favorite thing in the whole world. Especially hot with a bit of peanut butter. 😀

    Can’t wait for Saturday! Hope your Monday is going well!

Leave a Reply

