To Sew or Not to Sew

Gathering together the sewing items my mom had let me borrow, I proceeded to thread the needle and layed out the pants I wanted to hem.  All the while, I chatted happily to my husband about how I should buy a sewing machine and how I could create my own pillows, aprons, and even placemants out of fabric I had chosen myself.  What a lovely, short-lived dream it was. 

Within 30 minutes, I had managed to snap my thread twice, knot it once, and and prick my finger… well… a few more times than I would have cared to.  Ten minutes after that, I finished one pant leg.  Three more to go.  Halfway through the second pant leg, I ran out of thread and proceeded in tying it to a new piece of thread just so I wouldn’t have to start over.  (Hey, mistakes don’t count if no one can see them).  Finally done one pair of pants, I studied them critically and came to the conclusion that anyone who studied the bottom of my pant-legs closely enough to notice the uneven stitches had just way too much time on their hands.  By the time I started my second pair of pants, I had concluded that I hated sewing and that next time, I would pay the $5 to have a seamstress do it for me.  As for the pillows, aprons, and placemants I had envisioned, I now saw them on store shelves.

But now that I’m done, I feel a sense of accomplishment, and — hey — I saved $10!  Maybe, with lots of practice and tons of patience, I could make a pillow someday.  It could happen!  But for now, I’m so happy to be writing, because I can just hit the backspace if I make a mistake.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Sew or Not to Sew

  1. Good for you for sewing!! I have no patience and can’t seem to ever get the needle straight…haha. But I should totally learn, because it does save so much money!! 😀

    Oh, and you could definitely do a pillow!! And just think, you could pick out any materials, buttons, etc. that you wanted to fit you guys perfectly. I think it’s a great idea! 😀

Leave a Reply

