A Busy Girl Still Has to Eat: Chicken grinders

Wednesdays are crazy busy, because — right after work — my husband and I drive a van-load of kids to and from church.  It makes for a long day, but seeing how excited the kids are in anticipation of their activities always makes up for it!  Tonight, a little girl colored me and Nate some pictures, which totally made our evening.  The thing I love about kids is that they don’t care what you do for a job, how much money you have, or how popular you are.  They love that you’re spending quality time with them, making them laugh, and listening to them.

It was late by the time we got home, so dinner had to be quick and easy.  I put together this recipe based on a sandwich that is served at my favorite pizza place. 

First I sauteed some chicken breasts in a bit of olive oil…

Next I broiled some fresh, grinder rolls and prepped some veggies.  (I used tomatoes and lettuce, but I think pickles and chopped onions would have been amazing too).

Once the bread was nice and toasty, I added a slice of provolone cheese, a bit of mayo (you can use your favorite sandwich topping), the veggies, and the sauteed chicken.

Ta, da!!  I know the recipe seems obvious and quite easy, but it actually was so tasty and easy…   I LOVE meals like that!

Soooo, I know this was a super quick blog and nothing impressive.  🙂  But it’s getting late and morning will come quickly.  I should have lots to blog about in a couple of days, because my husband and I are on vacation and have some fun day trips planned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Busy Girl Still Has to Eat: Chicken grinders

  1. I totally forgot you guys were on vacation next week…so exciting!! You both deserve a week off. 😀

    Oh, and I love your sandwich idea. Usually its the simple recipes that are the tastiest, in my opinion. Yum!!

  2. Katie says:

    What a cute picture!! I love chicken sandwiches and I haven’t had one in a while! I think it’s about time!

Leave a Reply

