The Shopping Trip

We shopped… We dropped… 

I have come to the conclusion that there is actually an ulterior motive to the shopping trips that my mom, sister, and I enjoy.  Oh, we may claim to be on the hunt for that perfect pair of shoes (I totally found an adorable pair of heals at JCPenny for $13!).  We like to say that it’s all about the cute sweater we find in the clearance section or the sparkly scarf that is just begging to be brought home.  But at the end of the day, all that matters is that we spent the day together.  We let go of the stresses of every-day life and just enjoy laughing with each other and talking.  It’s priceless, and we have vowed to keep doing it year, after year, after year… no matter what! 

This year, to save money, we packed our own lunch to eat in the car.  We made sandwiches, and my mom had the brilliant idea of packing some homemade soup in a thermas.  Her minestrone soup was AMAZING on such a cold day and totally hit the spot.  I don’t know why I’ve never thought of doing this before!!  Seriously, if you’re going anywhere that requires packing a lunch, try this!  It totally beats eating a sandwich by itself!!

As far as the shopping itself went, the day was a success.  I stretched every penny and hit some amazing sales.  That’s the way I like it!!  🙂 

For dinner, I made Chicken Tetrazzini, which is one of my husband’s favorites.  I usually try to pick him up something whenever I go shopping, that way he won’t mind so much when I go.  (That is a quick tip that all of you girls can steal, if you’d like).  😉  I completely forgot to today, so I decided that making him one of his favorite meals might do the trick.  As I was making it, I came to the conclusion that I am probably one of the messiest cooks around.  (I’m the girl who dropped an entire bag of flour onto herself when trying to bake bread).  I nearly made it through the whole cooking process without spilling anything, but then — when I stirred some cinnamon into the butternut squash — I lifted my spoon too fast and too high.  Squash flew through the air, some of it landing on the wall and the rest of it getting stuck between the stove and the cabinet.  (Q-tips work for cleaning squash out of cracks between stoves and cabinets, by the way).  One day, I really will make a meal without causing a minor disaster!  Hey, don’t they say that messy cooks are good cooks?  It could be true, or it could be that all of us messy cooks are looking for a way to comfort ourselves. 

Oh, well, as long as you clean up the mess afterward, does it even matter?  🙂  Hope you’re having a great weekend!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Shopping Trip

  1. 5kidswdisabilities says:

    Sounds like a great day of shopping. I LOVED the picture from Old Navy…I was there myself buying great clothes on sale!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. You know, I think you explained our shopping trip perfectly. It really does come down to laughing and chatting and having girly time. 😀

    Oh, and I’m a firm believer that messy cooks are the best cooks. 😉

Leave a Reply

