The Challenge

My husband and I have a bit of a wager going on these days.  I’m not a betting woman, by any means, but I have never been known to back down from a challenge either.  The bet?  It’s that I won’t be able to keep the first weekend in March completely free from planned activities, appointments, and errands. 

It sounds easyeven to me but just yesterday I nearly made plans to go on a trip to the Christmas Tree Shop on that Saturday.  I would have had to wake up super early, drive for nearly an hour (just one way), and then – of course – my friend and I would have had to do lunch.  Half my day would have been gone.  And not long after I decided to push off the shopping trip for now, I decided that I want to tackle spring cleaning super early and nearly penciled it into that Sunday afternoon.  Do you see my dilemma?

I am completely  caught up in a busy, hectic schedule… so much so that I almost can’t stand to see an empty square on my daily calendar.  I have to be doing something, and – if I’m not – then I’ll make sure I pencil something in.  The problem is, even if I fill my weekends to the brim with fun things to do, I end up exhausted by Sunday night and then I have to get up early on Monday to do it all over again.  There’s never any down time  Im always out and about  Even Sundays, supposed to be a day of rest, tend to fill up very quickly.   And then, I start to get really tired and frustrated. Suddenly the fun things dont seem so fun anymore, because I realize that I dont have any time to do the things that I truly need to be doing.

So where does my husband come in? 

He and I have been married for about a year and a half.  In that time, he has seen me practice piano, write, and read very little.  This puzzled him for some time, because these things mean a lot to me.  Writing in particular is my passion, and it’s something that I’ve wanted to do since I was old enough to look at a picture book and make up stories to tell my brother and sister.   It’s what I love to do… but something that I have so little time to do.  He  began to wonder why was I making myself too busy to enjoy these favorite activities of mine.

Every week, without fail, I make the announcement that this is it…  I am going to pull out the novel I’ve been working on, dust it off a bit if necessary, and then write until I can’t write anymore.   But as the weekend approaches, I can’t help but notice that I have so much free time on Saturday that is begging to be filled.  So if a friend calls, I don’t think twice before I make plans.

For example, today is Friday and I have already completely filled up the weekend ahead of me.  There will be very little time for writing, never mind sleeping in and actually having some quiet time.  (Sleeping in, whats that?!?).  It’s the truth. I am addicted to a busy schedule and don’t know how to function without it.  But too much of anything is usually not a good thing, and being too busy is not the exception.

So a few days ago, when I made the announcement that next week will be the week, Nate told me that he didnt think I could do it.  He bet me ten dollars that I couldnt do it.  Im not 100% sure of his motives.  He is either very concerned about the emotional condition of his wife or very concerned that a very exhausted, frazzled wife will make life difficult for him.  😉  Whatever the motive, I agreed to his challenge, because I know that I need some kind of motivation behind me when I decide to leave a weekend free of plans.

It really is sad, when you think about it. I need to plan a weekend in order to keep it free from plans.  But I am going to accomplish this!  I have a feeling that my plan-free weekend still will be filled to the brim. But sometimes you need to do things that are refreshing and low-key.  Everyone needs some down time at home, so that they can spend it doing the more simple things of life, whether it be sewing or working on a novel. 

Sooo, this is the wager, and I plan on being successful next weekend.  I will not make plans ahead of time.  I will be spontaneous, spend time on my novel, and maybe read the magazine I bought three weeks ago.  Oh, yes, and maybe I’ll reaquaint myself with sleeping in.  Hmmm, sounds super refreshing!!  (I can’t remember the last time I woke up without the sound of an alarm clock).  Now, the question is, can I do it??  And if I can, will I commit to becoming more organized with my time, so that free moments are not so scarce? 

And so the challenge deepens 

(That said, I am super excited about my plans for this weekend…  Someow, when I have plans with my sister,  it’s both busy and relaxing).  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Challenge

  1. Haha…love this! 😀 You can totally do it (and I promise I won’t ask you to go out next weekend 😉 ). And just think, you’ll be $10 richer when you win the bet. That could be two lattes for the following weekend…teehee (just kidding :mrgreen: )

    I know the feeling though. Weekends fill up super fast before I even realize it. Sometimes it’s nice to have absolutely *nothing* planned. It’s kind of like planning a day just for yourself, which everybody needs now and then! 😀

  2. Oh you can do it!! You’re right- it’s so important to have time to do the things that bring you sheer joy. It’s way too easy to fill your time with commitments and plans, but you have to seek out the time for your passions. Good for you for accepting the challenge! It’s inspiring!

Leave a Reply

