A Busy Girl Has to Eat…peanut butter on a sweet potato

Do you ever get tired of the same ol’ lunches and get caught in a rut filled with peanut butter sandwiches, canned soup, and leftover spaghetti?  I do!!!  I’ve been trying to find more interesting, satisfying lunches of late, because I can’t stand the thought of eating the same thing for the rest of my career.  Ugh!  Really, canned soup gets old quite quickly…

My latest discovery, thanks to Katie from http://yesiwantcake.com/, is peanut butter spread on a sweet potato.  Well, okay, I haven’t really tried that yet.  Let me rephrase… I love sunblower butter on a sweet potato…   But it’s the same difference.  😉  It’s a new twist on a peanut butter sandwich, because it’s eaten warm (which is perfect for winter) and — well — it has a sweet potato (which is amazing in and of itself).

All you need to do is stick a sweet potato in the microwave for 5-8 minutes and then drizzle on a bit of sunflower butter or spread on the peanut butter. It’s like eating dessert for lunch, but you end up feeling satisfied, full, and energetic for hours.  (Thanks to my sistah, Sarah, for trying the new concoction with me).  🙂 

Do you have a healthy lunch favorite that you want to share?  Please do!!  I can’t live off of canned soup!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Busy Girl Has to Eat…peanut butter on a sweet potato

  1. Just seeing this picture is making me crave the stuff all over again. SO GOOD!!! 😀 I’m having a sweet potato tomorrow for lunch, but unfortunetly I don’t have any sunflower butter…I need to make a trip to Trader Joe’s ASAP. 😉

    One of my favorite lunch concoctions is just mixing brown rice with beans or chicken and a ton of veggies and salsa. It’s super simple and keeps me full and satisfied. Plus it makes good use of leftovers. 😉

Leave a Reply

