Shapin’ Up: And the Cardio Begins

My first run of the year was nothing to brag about…  In fact, I hope that no one recognized me as I jogged past.  😉  I’ve never run in 30 degree temperature before and by the time I’d finished a mile, an intense pain throbbed in my throat and into my ears.  It felt as though the back of my throat was bleeding. Talk about excrutiating pain!  I walked it off and called my sister to ask her if she had this reaction often.  (She’s been jogging all winter and in colder temperatures).  She never does, so I guess it’s something you get accumlated to. 

Note to self:  Don’t pick a cold morning to randomly begin jogging outside again.  Wait for slightly warmer temps or get a gym membership. 

I’ve never been good when it comes to taking it slow, but — with exercise — it’s the way to do it.  The last thing you want to do is end up feeling frustrated or end up injuring yourself.  (Or gagging because your throat is frozen). 😉 I’ve had to remind myself several times that I won’t be able to automatically begin running 5 miles a day again.  I’ve been lazy, so now I have to ease back into it. (Another thing I need to remember is how much easier it is to stay into shape then to get back into shape.  Being lazy is so not worth it)!

It’s good to have a plan… a goal in mind to keep you motivated and pushing forward.  But when you start out, you’re not going to make that goal yet. I’m teaching myself to pay attention to what my level  is at right now and then focusing on adding some extra challenges every week.  I jogged a mile the other day, so I need to do at least that next time. And if it’s warmer, hopefully I’ll make two miles.  But if I don’t, I can’t feel frustrated and quit. It’s all about taking it a day at a time and moving forward. 

This week, my goal is to be more consistant with my cardio work-outs.  The time-change is one week away and then the days will be brighter that much longer.  A more routine jogging routine is right around the corner!  I did fit in that small jog on Saturday, a five mile walk on Sunday (plus Tae Bo), and a two mile walk tonight.  The goal this week is to challenge myself a bit more physically so that I can prepare myself for longer, more intense work-outs.  And so it begins!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shapin’ Up: And the Cardio Begins

  1. lisaou11 says:

    One step at a time! Just remember that. And don’t worry about your not so good run. Just be happy you got there and took the first step to reaching your goal ya know?

  2. You’re right…slow and steady is where it’s at. You have the entire summer and autumn ahead of you for *gorgeous* running weather. If you build up slowly, you’ll be at 5 miles (or more!) before you know it. 😀

Leave a Reply

