A Busy Girl Has to Eat: Chicken Stew

So my sister is having a challenge on her blog this week…  (www.slowthingsdown.wordpress.com) She is asking people to be creative with sweet potatoes.  All day long I have racked my brain for a new way to use sweet potatoes, and never thought about adding some diced sweet potatoes to my chicken stew.  I’m not sure how it would taste, but that is the adventure and the excitement of the challenge.  Although in a perfect world I would have thought of this idea in time, I did not.  But fear not, as I already have a plan B.  The concern begins if I am in need of a Plan C, as I only have one sweet potato.  I suppose I could have a ‘Don’t eat this at home’ segment?  Stay tuned to see how this turns out… I have never promised to be a master chef, but the end result could at least be an interesting read.  😉

Anyway, onto chicken stew…  As always, Tuesday nights are busy nights and usually they are also fish nights.  But fish wasn’t on sale, and I wasn’t feeling like tuna.  (That poor lonely can of tuna in the cupboard will find its way into a meal yet).  So I decided to put together a chicken stew, as the steamy comfort food is nearly done its season.

What I love most about this chicken stew recipe is that it comes together so easily, but — at the same time — has all of the heartiness, and warmth, of the chicken stew your mother used to make when you were a kid.  …that and it can be personalized.  For my stew, I stick to the basics: carrots, onions, potatoes, and chicken.  But you can add celery, lima beans, or turnips too.  Hmmm, maybe even sweet potatoes?  Just toss it in and make it your own! 

To start, you’ll need six cups of chicken broth

Cut up 4 potatoes, 4-5 carrots (or 6 carrots if yours are as wimpy as mine were), and half of a large onion.  Toss it into the pot with the chicken broth, bring to a boil, and simmer for 30 minutes.

Once the vegetables are tender, pour in 2 (14 1/2 oz) cans of cream corn; a cup of cooked, diced chicken (I add a heaping cup of chicken); 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder; and 1 teaspoon of parsley.  Simmer for ten more minutes.

 

Then ENJOY!!!!!!  It’s great served with fresh, crusty bread… or homemade bread if you’re not a busy girl at the moment.  🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Busy Girl Has to Eat: Chicken Stew

  1. Totally love, love, *love* this recipe! 😀

  2. lisaou11 says:

    Wow, looks delicious.

    I’m lame with sweet potatoes and just want sweet potatoe fries haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

