Shapin’ Up: Finding My Work-out Routine

So this week’s goal is to establish a work-out routine.  …to get to the point where I can’t stand the thought of not working out and any excuses I make are excuses that free up my time so I can run.  I’m not dreaming of the day I run five miles again as much as I’m dreaming of the day that I just need to run!  Hmmm, working out is so much easier then!  It’s all about the routine… the schedules… and making it a habit. 

I was so looking forward to the time change, as it meant longer days and a chance for me to run after work.  But…

Slight problem # 1:  There was no sunshine yesterday or today, so the days don’t feel any longer.  The morning just came earlier for seemingly no reason at all.

Slight problem #2:  Not only is it cloudy, but an intensely cold rain (sometimes snow and sometimes hail) has been falling nonstop and flooding the nearby roadways.  It’s the type of raw weather that chills you to the bone.

Slight problem #3:  I sprained my toe on a kitchen chair (I totally did not mean to kick it); so now it’s swollen, red and oh-so-painful.  … quite ugly too, I might add, so I am thanking God that flip flips are not yet in season.  Anyway, I’m not quite sure that I would have been able to run on it tonight.

That said, I am very happy to report that — if the weathermen are correct — the next few days will be warmer, sunnier, and much more suited for a girl and her husband who are going to get back into shape.  This means I can probably get a bit of a routine going.  How nice is that going to be!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shapin’ Up: Finding My Work-out Routine

  1. love1025 says:

    YOU CAN DO IT!!! this rain is so awful..bring on the sun!!

  2. lisaou11 says:

    Routines do make everything SO much easier.

  3. I am *such* a routine kind of person, so I can totally relate. 😀 Don’t worry, you’ll have the routine down in no time at all. 😀

    (p.s. ICE that poor toe…ugh. Feet can be so sensitive. That sounds painful!)

  4. I really agree that getting into a routine makes everything so much easier. THen working out just becomes as natural as eating breakfast. I love schedules in that way.
    I hear the weather will be changing for the better and I’m thrilled. Life is better/easier in the sunshine!
    I was loving your slight problem list. so funny

Leave a Reply

