A Busy Girl Has to Eat… Fiesta Chicken Salad

With the sun hiding behind a thick blanket of clouds and a heavy fog lying over the neighborhood, I decided to bring some sunshine to the dinner-table!  It didn’t hurt that I had this dinner planned out a week ago.  😉  Today just happened to be rainy and Sarah from slowthingsdown.wordpress.com just happened to have a black bean challenge.  Double bonus!

First I shredded romaine lettuce and portioned it between two, large dinner plates.  Next, I topped with some chopped green peppers, black beans, corn (you can use canned or — to cut down on the sodium — thaw some frozen corn and run hot water over it).  I love the color contrast between the beans and the bright, yellow kernels!

Next I add the FUN ingredients.  Surround the bed of lettuce with baked Doritos or corn chips so that they resemble a sun’s rays.  Sprinkle the salad with shredded cheddar cheese.  Hmmm, starting to look good!  For the dressing, I mix 1 teaspoon of Cumin for every 1/2 cup of ranch dressing that I need.  (You can add more if you like it extra spicy).  Top the salad with chicken breasts that have been cut into bite-sized pieces and sautéed in a bit of olive oil.  (I usually sprinkle the chicken with a bit of pepper). Drizzle a bit of dressing on the chicken pieces and serve the rest on the side for dipping. 

Dig in!!  🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Busy Girl Has to Eat… Fiesta Chicken Salad

  1. lisaou11 says:

    mmm baked dorito chips are always so good.

    Love the sunshiney meal!

  2. Ahhh…I just ate breakfast but feel hungry again…haha. :mrgreen:

    I love, love, love this salad, and it’s perfect for the Black Bean Challenge. 😀

  3. Delicious and beautiful! I love love love a fiesta salad! Plus, you just gave me the best idea of using cumin in my ranch dressing! How creative and tasty! THanks!!

  4. Katie says:

    Yummy tex mex…one of my favorites!!

Leave a Reply

