Meatballs, Mac’n Cheese, and Fruit Trifle

My Memere hasn’t been feeling well lately, so my husband and I volunteered to make her and my Pepere dinner.  Well, okay, I volunteered.  My husband came home from work to a wife who — while batting her eyelashes — asked, “Would you please help me make dinner for my grandparents??”  As my attempt to be coy just made him laugh, his ‘yes’ was probably based on the fact that both of my grandparents have a special place in his heart.  (Batting my eyelashes has never been my strong point).

That and macaroni and cheese was on the menu.  No one can make macaroni and cheese like my husband can.  Probably because he gives little thought to the butter, milk, and cheese he is stirring together as he carefully makes a cheese sauce to pour over the little elbow noodles.  Where some might see a danger zone (warning, extra fattening calories ahead), my husband sees rich creaminess and comfort food perfection.  Calories?  What are those?

How macaroni and cheese became the menu item was no surprise to me.  I offered my husband’s cooking services when my grandmother mentioned that she had been eating a bit too much chicken lately.   

“Nate makes an amazing macarini and cheese!” I said with much gusto, “We’ll bring one over on Wednesday night!”  This was a fool-proof way to give my grandparents a hearty meal.  Nate’s macin’ cheese has never failed him, and it would fit in perfectly with our busy Wednesday.  He could make it during the afternoon, and I could meet him at my grandparents after work.  What a plan!

My grandmother became lost in thought for a moment.  It sounded good… I could tell she liked the idea… But still, she wanted meat other than chicken. 

“How about meatballs?”  I threw out the suggestion before I thought about how often I’ve made homemade meatballs…  Hmmm, yeah, I could count the amount of times on one finger.  

Her eyes brightened a bit…  “Meatballs would be good with Nate’s macaroni and cheese,” my Memere said.  She was hooked. This is exactly what she wanted.  She looked up at me as if to say, “Oh, but it will be too much trouble,” so I blurted out, “That’s awesome, because I was planning on making homemade meatballs on Tuesday night anyway.  So I can just bring lots of leftovers to go with the macin’ cheese.”  My sister, standing at my side, smiled at me as if to say, “You’re so nice… but such a liar.” 

Thankfully, homemade meatballs are amazingly easy to make and I don’t know why I haven’t made them more often.  I mixed the lean hamburg with some diced onions, a bit of salt and pepper, and a handful of bread crumbs.  After rounding them into cute meatballs, I stuck them in the oven for about half an hour and they came out rather nice.   

While my husband prepared his macaroni and cheese (I’d tell you how he makes it, but I honestly don’t know how he does it… although I think his secret might be to baking it until its oh-so-ooey-gooey-and-cheesey), I put together a fruit trifle.  With layers of yellow cake, vanilla pudding, chopped fruit (strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, and banana), and freshly whipped cream, it’s summertime in a bowl.  And I think it was a nice touch to end a meal brimming with comfort

Well, I’d write more but my busy Wednesday isn’t finished and I have more to do…  🙂  Sorry this doesn’t have much of an ending.  Until next time! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meatballs, Mac’n Cheese, and Fruit Trifle

  1. Haleigh says:

    Just found your blog! So nice of you to make dinner for your grandparents 🙂 I learned how to cook from my mother in law and I just love to make dinner for her now that I have taught myself to be quite the foodie chef. Although, it’s a bit nervewracking watching the person you know who makes all food taste like heaven eat the dish you have just made. Hope you have a good day! xoxo

  2. The mac’n cheese was delicious, and I couldn’t believe how much of her plate Memere actually ate (usually she moves right on to dessert…haha.)

    The fruit trifle is so pretty too!

  3. lisaou11 says:

    mmm mac and cheese and meatloaf! Itd be nice to have lil regard to cals like the hubby huh!

Leave a Reply

