Fire Alarms… not for the faint of heart

Last night was a looooong night…  At exactly midnight, our fire alarm went off.  Only, being half asleep and semi-conscious, it sounded like an air raid.  Honestly, I’ve never heard such a loud, shrieky fire alarm, and I sincerely hope we never have a fire if only because I don’t want to hear it ever again. 

I sat up in bed, curled into a ball, and held my hands over my ears, while yelling, “Nate, what is that?!?”   He was sitting up too, staring at me all wide-eyed and confused.  The cats lept from the covers and raced under the bed.  Were I any tinier, I too would have hid there too.

Then, as soon as it had started, it stopped and the silence followed.  My husband rolled over and went back to sleep as though it hadn’t happened.  I, on the other hand, lay awake for nearly an hour and listened to my heart pound.  They don’t make fire alarms like they used to!  A person definitely can’t sleep through them anymore!!  Even my cats haven’t recovered, because they have been jumpy and panicked all day.

Anyway, onto more happy things… 🙂

As I work only about fifteen minutes from work AND I knew that I would be too exhausted tonight to spend time in the kitchen, I came home during my lunchbreak to put together dinner in the crockpot.   The recipe called for bone-in chicken breasts, which I have honestly never cooked with before.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I was shocked at how huge these things were.  Honestly, my first thought was, “If this came from a chicken, he was one BIG bird!”  Then I noticed that the package stated it was chicken breasts with ribs…  Do they always come like that or can you get them without ribs?  This I shall have to investigate…

Anyway, I made a rub by combining:  1 Tablespoon olive oil, 1 teaspoon paprika, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, 1/2 teaspoon dried basil, 1/2 teaspoon and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.  Mix it all together and rub it onto 4 bone-in chicken breast halves… Or, if you’re like me, you’ll rub it onto two HUGE chicken breasts with ribs.  😉

Next, I placed my chicken breasts into my little red crock pot, added a cup of chicken broth, and set the heat to low.  Then I left it for 5 hours… As I was tapping my pen, chatting with customers, and slipping into and out of my heels at work, my chicken was simmering and doing all the work.  Ahhh, I love crock pots!

The chicken was SOoooo tender and full of spices!  It would have been good with rice and veggies, but I was honestly in the mood for picking and something lite. So I served it with a large tossed salad and some oh-so-sweet pears.  Yum!

Well, I’m off to watch the new series Food Revolution….

Happy Friday!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fire Alarms… not for the faint of heart

  1. The chicken looks awesome! I’ve never cooked with bone-in chicken breast either, and honestly I have no idea if they normally contain the ribs or not…haha.

    Love the idea of letting dinner simmer. How nice is that to walk into a cooked, tasty, healthy meal? Mmm…

  2. Gosh I just hate that- when you get woken up in the night and can’t fall back to sleep for a while. Terrible.
    But I bet that chicken was fall off the bone tender! Looks so great. I just love the slow cooker- magic!
    I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Nicole!!

Leave a Reply

