Soup, it’s whats for dinner

The first time I made split pea soup for my husband, he stirred his spoon around in his bowl thoughtfully, lifted it up and let the soup drip off, and then commented, “This soup is good… Hmmm, my mom’s split pea soup is really thick though.  I wonder how she does that.”

What he was saying was, “Maybe you could call my mom for a pointer or two because even though this soup is really good, I love it when it’s thick.”

What I heard was, “I wish I hadn’t married you and was still living at home with my two brothers, sister, and cat; so that I could eat my mom’s amazingly thick pea soup whenever I wanted to.”

Yeah, it didn’t go over well.

So I set out on a mission to make the thickest pea soup he had ever tasted.  Because then I would be the wife he needed — the wife he deserved.  And I would hold conferences and write books to inspire other woman in their quest to be the best wife possible.  (Okay, okay, getting a bit carried away here…)

Anyhow, I set out in my split pea soup journey to make a thicker, more hearty entrée.  The funny thing is that I needn’t have worried about my soup not being thick enough any longer.  Because as life became busier and my time to spend in the kitchen diminished, I found myself over-cooking it to the point where most of the broth had evaporated.  But instead of being frustrated that my soup was now thick like lumpy, green mashed potatoes, I was delighted because my husband loved the thickness.  Seriously, he can no longer stir his spoon around in his soup and watch the soup drip off. It won’t drip.  That soup ain’t going anywhere unless more than gravity is tugging at it.

But I think the greatest happiness for me is that I now understand that my husband loves and appreciates my cooking attempts, even if they are sometimes flops or not quite up to our expectations.  He’s proud of me for trying — grateful that there’s food on the table for dinner.  So much so that he thanks me every night for the meal.  And it’s a gesture I never get tired of…

Split Pea Soup — Super Thick Style

2 cups chicken broth

–1 cup dry split peas, rinsed and drained

— meaty ham bone

–1/4 tsp dried marjoram

–1 bay leaf

–1/2 cup chopped carrot

–1/2 cup chopped onion

1.  In a large saucepan, combine broth, split peas, ham bone, marjoram, bay leaf, 2 cups water, and dash pepper.  Bring to boiling; reduce heat but keep it at a steady boil.  Cover and simmer for 1  hour, stirring occasionally.  Remove meat.  When cool enough to handle, cut meat of bones and chop meat.  (Throw away the bone).  Meanwhile, add the vegetables and simmer for 20-30 more minutes until veggies are tender and soup is thick.  Add meat, stir and heat until hot.  Serve and enjoy.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soup, it’s whats for dinner

  1. Katie says:

    Mmm, I love pea soup! That looks like a fantastic recipe!!

    My husband has a love affair with his mom’s lasagna…mine doesn’t even come close. I’ve tried many variations (even using his mom’s recipe), but they always pale in comparison. I’ve stopped trying. You can’t win them all. 🙂

  2. lisaou11 says:

    haha i love the way you write and tell your stories.

    i fear the day when sean compares my cooking to his moms, bc his mom is a GREAT cook.

  3. caralinruth says:

    Your soup sounds delicious and simple (simply delicious?). That’s the best kind of soup! I love that a lot of the best things to eat are the result of other recipes that “flopped”, too – the first brownies were simply a cake that didn’t rise, and now we do them on purpose, just like your “overcooked” soup!

    One of my favourite soups is a super-easy butternut squash soup, that comes out nice and thick. It’s so easy you can hardly call it a recipe, but here it is:

    BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP
    Chop up some onions, saute in butter until they’re tender.

    While the onions are cooking, you can add some curry powder or cinnamon if you want (both very tasty, but very different – one’s more savory, the other sweet, but I don’t think I’d add them both together! Yuck!). If you don’t want the spice, you can leave it out entirely.

    Peel and chop up a butternut squash and discard the seeds (I like to wear disposable gloves when I do this, because the squash turns you orange and leaves an icky film on your fingers). Dump the squash chunks in the pot, and add enough chicken broth (or veggie broth, but I like chicken) to cover.

    Cook until the squash is tender, then mash it up. You can use a potato masher, or transfer it in batches to the blender for a smoother soup. My favourite way to do this is with an immersion blender – I can do the whole thing right in the pot and still get silky smooth soup.

    More broth = thinner soup, less broth = thicker soup. It’s easy to add a little bit more broth when you’re blending it up, too, if you find it’s a little too thick. Though with your husband’s tastes, it doesn’t sound like that would be a problem!!

    Wow, super-long comment. But I just had to share my favourite soup with another soup-appreciator. In fact, I may make it tonight!

    Oh, and your husband sounds lovely, by the way – it’s so nice that he’s grateful and supports your kitchen efforts! He sounds like a keeper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

