BBQ!!!

Today was a bit chilly compared to just days ago, but it was sunny!  I think I love my little, yellow car most in the spring and summer.  On the sunny, dry days, it makes me happy to go for a drive in it…  It just looks happy!

But nothing shouts summer like a BBQ!!

My Memere and Pepere bought me and Nate a grill as a house-warming gift, and tonight we put it to the test.  I have to admit that I was a little worred, because Nate and I have never cooked with charcoal before.  As Nate eagerly pulled out the charcoal and the lighter fluid, I hung around in the background and tried to determine what I could serve for dinner if a backup was needed.  Eggs, yeah we had plenty of those.  Maybe a nice omelet?  Or maybe the rest of the  broccoli cheddar soup that was in the fridge?  That would be good on such a chilly day…

 It got me to thinking about how my husband and I are very different this way.  He always sees the glass half full.  He’s always positive, convinced that things will turn out right and that — if they don’t — we’ll pull through anyway.  I, on the other hand, struggle with this.  Yes, I do see life with a sense of humor and can laugh about situations when I could be crying (yes, I can even cry over spilled milk).  But I always prepare for the worst.  I’m like the cruise passenger who tries on the life-jacket the minute she steps onto the ship.  It’s not like I’m convinced the ship will sink, but I’m not going to be surprised if it does.  In fact, I’ll be prepared for it.  Because I somehow tend to expect and prepare for the worst.

Why am I like this?  I have absolutely no idea…  There have been no horrific experiences in my life that I can point to and say, “See, that’s why I’m this way.”  And I know that God has me in His hands.  That’s where I get the humor I think… Even though I’m preparing for the worst and expect it, I can laugh about it because He’ll get me through like He does every time. So even if the ship will sink, well, I’m going to be okay.  So instead of being hysterical, I just laugh.  🙂 

Anywho…

As I was mulling over in my head what I could whip together for dinner, Nate calmly flipped those burgers and perfectly browned the buns.  Dinner was AMAZING!  I mean, these burgers were cooked to perfection, with just the tiniest hint of pink and tons of juiciness.  And the smell… Hmmmm, it was just like a BBQ in summer.

Here’s to hoping that my hubby’s confidence and positive attitude will rub off on me!  But I’ll never lose the humor.  I’d much rather laugh than cry!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BBQ!!!

  1. youngwifey says:

    We have a gas grill, which I love to use. But I miss the smell of charcoal.

  2. lisaou11 says:

    gotta love grilling! i look forward to the day I will be able to do thaT!

  3. Love your outfit in the first pic…very cute! 😀

    I love bbq’s and can’t wait for burgers on the grill. And corn on the cob. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

