A Busy Girl Needs to Eat… Sloppy Joes

There was absolutely no reason for it; but there I was lying in bed, staring at the ceiling, and wishing that I could fall alseep.  I just couldn’t sleep last night!  And it wasn’t just me.  My husband would roll to the left, and I’d roll to the right.  I’d roll to the left, he’d roll to the right.  He’d sigh, and I’d groan.  By the time 4am had arrived, the bags under my eyes had bags.  I finally gave up counting sheep and gave into my cat’s begging for a belly rub.  At least one of us was happy.  😉

So tonight, I came home exhausted from the lack of sleep and from the busy day at work.  Sloppy Joes were on the list, but I wasn’t up for chopping, dicing, and mincing.  Enter my busy girl’s version… 🙂  They were hearty and oh-so-quick…  And quick is what I like best!  (It doesn’t hurt that Nate really liked them too). 

Quick and Easy Sloppy Joes

1 lb Lean Ground Beef

1 cup ketchup

1/4 cup water

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

2 teaspoons prepared mustard

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 hamburger buns

1.  Cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain.  Stir in the remaining ingredients (except for the buns).  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 30-40 minutes.  Serve on buns which have been broiled until crispy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Busy Girl Needs to Eat… Sloppy Joes

  1. lisaou11 says:

    yum, sloppy joes are big time comfort food for me!

  2. These look awesome! I can’t believe we used to buy the canned version in this house when they’re simple to make homemade (I bet they taste 10x better too 😀 )

  3. Oh I adooorrrreeee sloppy joes! They have the best sweet, spicy kick to them and they’re just such comfort on a bun. I always think of Adam Sandler doing the lunch lady skit “You want some Schloppppyyyy JOeessss??”

    Love this meal!

Leave a Reply

