Kickball — Not for the Faint of Heart

About five years ago, I fractured my knee-cap and tore two tendons while playing kickball.  Yes, you read correctly…  Kickball.  With my leg extending as far as it could to reach first base and the other half of my body reaching for the ball, I wasn’t ready for the fierce impact of a body hitting me.  The next thing I knew, I was lying on my back, staring up at a blue sky, and groaning at the intense pain.  And there was fear too… Fear when I couldn’t move my leg and my knee wouldn’t pop back into place.

I was on crutches for weeks and had to attend physical therapy sessions for months.  During this time, I made the difficult decision of telling the truth whenever anyone asked me about the crutches and the limp.  Oh, how I wanted to say something grand, such as I had thrown myself into the path of an oncoming car to save a lost kitten from utter destruction.  Or even a tale of how I had played football with big tough guys.  Anything would be better than the truth – I severely injured my knee while playing kickball.  And I had been run into by a girl, no less. 

Sometimes realty hurts…

But telling the truth is important to me.  That and if I did try to make up a white lie, I’d probably forget what I had said and suddenly there would be ten different stories circulating about.  The embarrassment of having hurt myself while playing a kid’s sport would be much less than having to admit to a falsehood.  So I told everyone the truth…

And now, I must tell the truth again.

For the past four years, I’ve been telling myself that the pain in my knee would go away… and that the limping up and down stairs didn’t matter in the grand scheme of things.  But today, when I realized that I was limping from last night’s run, I realized that I was fed up.  So I called my doctor.

I had expected them to say, “Aww, that’s too bad, we’ll see you in the spring.”  I mean, let’s be honest.  Getting into the doctor’s office quickly is not a common circumstance.  But due to a cancellation, I made it into the doctor’s office for 3:30… into the x-ray lab for 3:45… and had an MRI scheduled by 4:00.

The MRI is scheduled for Friday. My doctor says that he doesn’t believe my tendons healed correctly and  that surgery is a definite possibility for my near future.  It’s not a necessary surgery.  But if I want to continue running,  playing sports, or dancing (well, okay, I don’t dance but I want to learn), then I’ll have to agree to this.  I kind of wish he’d just force me to get one.  I feel like a little kid who’s being told to ask their parent to go to the dentist.  I’m not mature enough to choose an optional surgery.  Am I? 

Well, there’s no need to panic right  now… We’ll see what the MRI says.

Stay tuned for some new recipes that I’m trying this weekend.  There will be some good eats and there’s a special Mother / Daughter shopping trip scheduled for Saturday.  (That means new clothes and – well – some more good eats).  Plus a special guest is coming to visit. My Uncle Mike is up from New York City, and I think that I’m going to try my hand at putting together a chocolate cheesecake.  🙂

Do you have any fun plans for the upcoming weekends?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kickball — Not for the Faint of Heart

  1. !!!!

    Girl, that is insane! I’m so sorry you have to decide on such a big thing like that…awful, awful, awful. I hate knee injuries! 😦

    But at least if they can really pinpoint what is wrong with your knee, you can move on towards becoming stronger and better at what you do…*minus* the pain!

    Keep me updated!!!

  2. lisaou11 says:

    Wow crazy story–and hopefully they figure some things out with it!!

    Im most excited about checking out an apartment with the boyfriend!

Leave a Reply

