Never Fail Haddock

When Nate and I first got married, I had only one fish recipe under my belt: tuna sandwiches.  I was the master of these seafood entrees, whether I was taking the chilled sandwich to go or grilling it to toasty perfection. The nearby sandwich shop had absolutely nothing on me, let me tell you! 

So my concern over getting my Omega 3’s didn’t really hit home until I found out that Nate didn’t like tuna.  Now, this is proof that you really don’t know a person until you marry them.  I’m not convinced that this came up during our dating relationship, and it certainly didn’t come up during our marriage prep classes.  I mean, shouldn’t there be some kind of food quiz along the way to make sure that you’re compatable or that as the wife, you’ll be able to prepare the foods your husband likes?  I could deal with his peanut allergy, but now he wouldn’t eat tuna either?  What was I to do?

I tried to put off buying fish for as long as possible, making every excuse in the book from “it’ll make the apartment stink like fish” to “I don’t think it’s the right season for fish.” 

Fish scared me.  Pretty much any new meat scares me, as it is uncharted territory.  Back when I lived at home, I ate fish once a week, but that was because it was already perfectly baked by the time it reached the table.  (Thanks to Mom).  Now it was up to me to blacken the salmon, sautee the scallops, or pan-fry the tilapia.  And although I’m usually brave when it comes to trying new things, I am not very brave when it comes to cooking new things.  Oh, the waste that is the end result if things don’t go so well, not to mention the feeling of failure.  My husband assures me that he didn’t marry me for my cooking skills, but I’m not convinced.  They always say that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, so I don’t think he’d appreciate cold tuna sandwiches every time we eat fish. 

But finally, I did it.  I bought some fresh haddock, crossed my fingers, and found a recipe online.  The recipe below is the recipe I made.  It’s absolutely delicious and so incredibly easy.  My kind of fish recipe!  And it proved to me that making fish really isn’t all that scary at all.  Most fish recipes are simple, super tasty, and oh-so-healthy.  Now it’s time for me to bake a chicken… I’ve been married for nearly two years and still haven’t conquered that yet.  Maybe next month… I don’t think that it’s the season for baked chicken.

 

Never Fail Haddock

1 lb white fish (sole, haddock, cod)

8-10 crushed crackers

1 tablespoon margarine

Pinch parsley, pepper & salt to taste

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

— Put fish in baking dish coated with nonstick cooking spray.  Sprinkle with buttered crumbs and seasonings.  Bake at 375 degrees until fish flakes, about 25 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never Fail Haddock

  1. Yum-may! Love this type of fish…it’s so simple and delicious. And I love the sweet potato action going on in that shot too….yum! 😀

Leave a Reply

