Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Quick post today, as I have today off from work and my hubby and I are going on an adventure.  🙂  I wanted to share my broccoli cheddar soup with you.  I made some for my grandparents and received a surprise in return… some of my Memere’s homemade donuts.  Trust me, you haven’t tried a donut until you’ve had one of my Memere’s.  She dusts them with sugar and the perfect sprinkling of nutmeg.  If you close your eyes while eating it, you’re transported to a cafe in France.  Hmmmm….

 

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

2 tablespoons butter

1 onion, diced

1/2 teaspoon ground white pepper

1 (16 oz) package frozen chopped broccoli

1 quart chicken broth

1/2 cup flour

1 1/2 cups 1% milk

salt to taste

1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1.  Melt butter over medium heat in a soup pot.  Cook onion in butter until softened.  Add garlic and pepper; cook for 1 minute then stir in broccoli, and stir in chicken broth.  Bring to a boil and simmer until broccoli is tender, 10-15 minutes.

2.  Meanwhile, whisk flour into milk until dissolved.  Stir into soup stirring frequently until thickened.  Reduce heat, and stir in cheese until melted and heated through.

3.  Season with salt to taste

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broccoli Cheddar Soup

  1. Look how plump and moist those donuts are! They look perfect!

    Your broccoli cheddar soup recipe is awesome, by the way. Way better then Panera, in my opinion. 😀

  2. youngwifey says:

    Your soup looks like it turned out well Nicole.

    • Nicole says:

      Thanks for giving me your recipe though! I like how you add shredded carrots, just like one of my favorite restaurants does. I just might have to try that! 🙂

  3. love1025 says:

    ohhhhh i heart broccoli & cheese I am going to have to try this!!! sounds delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

