Tomato Soup Cake

If you try only one recipe that I post on this site, you need to try Tomato Soup Cake.  🙂  My mother-in-law shared this recipe with me on the day of my wedding shower, and I have turned to the recipe many times since then. 

It has the rich color of the tomato soup, but – after that – the resemblance is gone.  The cake fills the house with an amazing aroma of cinnamon, clove, and nutmeg as it bakes.  And that first, ultra-moist bite makes you want to close your eyes and savor each spice.  It’s amazing.

What is also amazing is its simplicity.  You mix it all into one bowl, pour it into a pan, and then bake.  And it’s versatility never fails to amaze me.  Sometimes, Nate’s mom will dress it up with a sweet, cream-cheese frosting.  When raisins are added, they plump up as if they’ll burst.  Chocolate chips add a nice surprise, as does a simple dusting of powdered sugar. 

I’ve seen it cut into squares… Baked into adorable little muffins… Served in a pie plate and cut into pie-shaped pieces.  And every time, it has all the delectable seasonings of fall… without the added fat.  One-sixteenth of this recipe has only 130 calories.  Yes, I am in love.

So try it and tell me how you like it… Better yet, come up with your own twist and share it with me. Who knows, maybe I’ll use your idea when I serve tomato soup again in the near future.

Enjoy!

Tomato Soup Cake

Nutritional Info

  • Fat: 2.2g
  • Carbohydrates: 26.5g
  • Calories: 130.2
  • Protein: 1.8g

Ingredients

1 can tomato soup
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons oil
1 3/4 cup flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp clove
1 tsp nutmeg

Directions

Mix all ingredients well and pour into a 9 x 9 baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Test with toothpick.

Number of Servings: 16

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tomato Soup Cake

  1. Tes says:

    The thing is I really wonder now what this cake taste like. I have to try it.

  2. I’ve got to try making this recipe!! I’ve tried it before when you made it and was floored by how yummy it was. No hint of tomato flavor, just all the moistness and spicy flavor you’d expect in a…well…spice cake. Soooo yummy! 😀

  3. Lindsay says:

    Wow. Such an interesting idea. I want to try it just to see what it’s like!! Thank you for posting this!

  4. Just came across your blog and saw a recipe for this tomato soup cake. OMG! This sounds amazing as tomato soup was one of my comfort foods growing up. I can’t wait to try it. How creative!

  5. lucy says:

    I came across your recipe after searching for a good one to make and just realised theres no eggs, is this an eggless cake ?

    • Nicole says:

      Yes, there are no eggs in this recipe! 🙂 (My mother-in-law uses two tablespoons of vegetable shortening, I believe, instead of the oil. I just use oil, because I try to avoid cooking with shortening. But I think hers does come out a little better than mine… 😉 So you can use the oil, shortening, or I imagine that you could also use two tablespoons of butter). This recipe is very versatile like that, which is nice. It’s also AMAZING with some raisins thrown in, because they plump up really nice when baked. And you can eat it just like that, or you can frost it with a cream cheese frosting, with a dusting of powdered sugar, or even with just a thin glaze. 🙂 If you try it, let me know how you liked it!!

Leave a Reply

