Remember the Crater

Is anyone else married to a man who has to try ideas before realizing that the idea is a bad one?  In his defense, my husband should have been a scientist.  In fact, he had planned on pursuing a degree in science before he met a beautiful young woman who he couldn’t live without.  😉  And then getting a job a bit quicker became really important as marriage became the subject of discussion.  So it’s really my fault that he didn’t become a scientist… and that we now have a crater at the end of our driveway.

For those of you who have been reading my blog regularly, you know that we already had to return one lawnmower because it didn’t work. Yesterday, lawn mower # 2 broke while my husband was mowing the lawn. There’s no explanation for its leaking oil everywhere, so Sears said that we could return it.  Nate first had to empty the oil from the mower, so I helped him pour the greasy substance into a plastic bucket.

“I’d like to set this on fire to see what would happen,” he commented, looking at the black liquid.

I should have known then. I should have grabbed that bucket and ran off with it.  But I just laughed, because I didn’t think he’d ever do it.  Don’t ask me why, but I just knew it’d be a bad idea.  My husband, on the other hand, had to find out why…

Five minutes later, as I was in the kitchen cleaning up with my sister, I saw heavy black smoke rising up from the end of the driveway.  And I saw flames…  By the time I had joined my husband’s side, the plastic bucket had melted completely and there was just intense heat and flame.

When Nate decided that it had burned long enough and used the hose to put it out, we gasped.  The fire had melted a hole into the driveway.  Evidently, driveways melt.  Although I was not at all happy with this, I have decided that — in the end — it could be a good thing.  Whenever he doesn’t want to listen to my advice, I can say, “Remember the crater.”  Lest he fill it in as soon as possible, I had my sister take pics. No, he will never live this one down.

On a brighter note, dinner was actually very good.  I’ve been craving the BBQ Chicken salad I had from Panera not long ago and decided to make my own version at home. The base was romaine lettuce topped with corn, black beans, green peppers, a bit of shredded cheese, and chopped tomatoes.  My sister chopped two chicken breasts into small pieces and sauteed them in a bit of olive oil.  For the dressing, I mixed 1/2 cup light Ranch dressing with 1/2 cup BBQ sauce.  Then for some crunch, I added some home-made baked onion rings (recipe below).  With the help of my sistah, dinner was on the table in no time, and even my hubby really liked it. 

Oven Fried Onion Rings

1/2 cup fine dry bread crumbs

2 tablespoons margarine, melted

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper (optional)

2 medium mild yellow or white onions, sliced 1/4 inch thick and separated into rings

2 slightly beaten egg whites

—Spray a large baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray. In a small mixing bowl, stir together the bread crumbs, melted margarine, salt, and red pepper if desired.  (Next time, I think I’m going to try adding garlic powder).  Spread crumb mixture on a sheet of waxed paper.  Using a fork, dip the onion rings in the egg whites, then in the bread crumb mixture.  Arrange the coated onion rings in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet.  (Sometimes I use two sheets, if one isn’t big enough).  Bake in a 450 degree oven for 12-15 minutes or until the onions are tender and the coating is crisp and golden.  Makes 4 servings.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Remember the Crater

  1. Umm…yep! Pretty much amazing. I can not stop raving about those onion rings. 😀

    • Nicole says:

      I think I used a little bit less than the 2 tablespoons of margarine it called for… You can always experiment with that a bit too. But I think the margarine really helps the coating stick. So glad you liked the onion rings and hope you make them yourself too. Dad would really like them I think. 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    Haha! We call that “Stupid Boy Syndrome” in our house…I think most boys are inclined to want to try things like that. 😉

    Those onion rings look fantastic! And on top of a salad…genius.

  3. Justine says:

    I cannot wait to try those onion rings!

    Men can be so silly sometimes. 🙂

  4. bellawilfer says:

    LOL, a crater?! Wow. Hey, you kept your sense of humor at least. 😉 What is it with guys and their desire to play with danger and fire?!

    This one reminds me of the time when my boyfriend singed (sp?!) his eyebrows and eyelashes completely off once when burning trash. And he’s the fire fighter! Thank goodness that there was still snow on the ground and he did the drop and roll into it fast!

    • Nicole says:

      Ha, ha. That is something that Nate would do! It’s an interesting balance, being the wife (or girlfriend) who wants to be supportive but who also — at the same time — wants to help keep them alive. 🙂

      • bellawilfer says:

        You said it… It’s the keeping him alive part that concerns me. 😛 I managed to get a guy who works in construction (I try not to think about how his dad sliced the tips off three of his fingers last summer and hope Ty is a lot more careful), is a fire-fighter and EMT. He would have two jobs that flirt with danger. That’s why I found myself aghast a month ago when I was all excited that he got to respond to a structure fire call – “Wait, why am I all excited for you?!” Oh, the balance…!

  5. dianacheung says:

    Seriously…no matter what age a guy is…he will always want to light something on fire! JEEZ!

  6. suki says:

    Definitely a hilarious phrase to remind him of his silly ideas. 😉

  7. Oh my gracious that salad looks SO tasty!

Leave a Reply

