The Craft Room

Since Nate and I moved into the new house, I’ve had this lofty goal of turning one of the extra bedrooms into a sewing room.  No, I have absolutely no idea how to sew.  And I have unpleasant memories of trying to learn, such as the many times I jammed the sewing machine or stuck my thumb with a needle.  In fact, I don’t even seem like the type of girl who would sew, or so says my husband.  But I can’t help but want to try…just once more.

Even if I make nothing more than pillows (certainly I can handle that), I’ll be happy.

So yesterday I took one step closer to making that a reality.  I found some cute decorations for my sewing room.  Now I’m pretty sure that I’m more excited about decorating my sewing room than I am about the sewing itself, but maybe the decorating will inspire me to go even further.  You know, like actually buying a sewing machine and learning how to use it.  But I was pretty sure that finding the large, wooden button and pair of scissors for my sewing room wall was a sign that I should move forward with this.  I mean, they were 40% off! 

By the time my husband came home, I was inspired and skipping about the house, putting out the knickknacks that I had never unpacked and lighting cinnamon scented candles.  I gushed about how cute my craft room would be and how I could maybe even take up scrap-booking.  And when the house was completely cleaned and the kitchen was lemony fresh, I found new ways to organize by throwing my hubby’s keys, wallet, and other odds-in-ends that had been scattered around into a basket. I hid the clutter with a linen napkin and stuck it on the counter.  Martha Stewart would be so proud!  My husband, on the other hand, protested that there was no way he’d be able to fold that napkin every time he needed his wallet.  But I promised to teach him and turn him into Mr. Martha Stewart. 

Poor guy.  And this was all because I found a button and a pair of scissors on sale at a local craft store…

On the flip side, I also want my dad to teach me how to use his wood-working tools.  It wouldn’t hurt to have a back-up plan.  You know, if sewing doesn’t work out then I can take the carpentry route.  I can go from sewing aprons to wearing steel-toed boots and a Craftsman cap.  😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Craft Room

  1. I love this! 😀 And, FYI, I can see you both sewing AND working with power tools. Maybe I’ll learn how to work with wood too…or watch safely from the distance…haha. 😀

  2. dianacheung says:

    My blog was suppose to be my creative outlet but lately I’ve been wanting to find NEW projects as well..can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  3. Chris says:

    Kyla- I can see you have real talent for creating crafts and other unique things for your home. Continue to be creative and original, my home is traditional and sometime I wish I would have been more creative from scratch. You have grand ideas, follow them no matter what they are.

Leave a Reply

