Glad That’s Over!

Phew, I am so glad that’s over. 

Last night was the end to my addiction to American Idol.  We’ve voted in a new winner, and I can sit back and wait for the cd to come out.  And with Lost having reached its end (did anyone else hate the ending) and the other two shows I watch ending for the summer, I actually can have a life now.  I feel like a new person already!

I’ve never been one to spend much time in front of the television, but this year was BAD!  I think that it all started when Nate and I were renting an apartment, rather than owning our home.  The apartment was small and there wasn’t a lot to do in the city other than shop, go to movies, and shop some more.  So since we were too broke to shop and the movies worth watching were limited, we became hooked on some television shows on ABC. You know, the shows — like Lost — that you have to watch every single episode in order to understand.

So we began to plan our lives around these characters, letting them live their lives on screen so that we didn’t have to plan anything for ourselves to do.  And suddenly our calendar reflected the addiction.  Oops, we can’t go to your parents’ house for dinner on Tuesday night because Lost comes on at 9pm and we’d never get back on time.  

The other shows we watched came on at 8pm, which meant that I had to whip together dinner, do the dishes, and try to get in some exercise before then.  That was extremely difficult on the days that I found myself walking in the front door at 7pm.  (Seriously, this schedule has prepared me to be on Food Network’s Cooking Challenge.  If they had a television edition in which you had to complete a meal before your favorite show was on, I would so win).

But last night was the end to a year of too much television.  The shows have either ended for the summer or ended permantly.  And now, a bit glassy eyed, I sit in my kitchen and look at the calendar, realizing that I am now free.  I can make dinner at a liesurely pace tonight… I can go for as long of a walk as I want to…  I can catch up with a friend I haven’t seen in awhile…  Maybe I can even begin decorating a room.

Hmmm, makes me want to send my television packing and to tell him that he can’t ever come back.  Feels good to live!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glad That’s Over!

  1. That is so true! I’m like that with Biggest Loser…can’t miss an episode! But now I have my Tuesday nights free. What a blissful feeling. 😀

Leave a Reply

