The Memory Game

He either has a bad memory or he is so completely unfamiliar with the world of women that he doesn’t even know what I’m talking about… Either way, my husband never remembers what I want for my birthday.  Usually, about a month before my birthday, Nate asks me to start letting him know what I want.  And I always start off with the subtle hints…  The sly comments, such as, “Oh, I’ve been meaning to buy one but I just never have the extra money,” or, “I love this but it’s not something that I’d probably splurge and buy myself.” 

Just days before my birthday, the sly hints become obvious statements:  “Hun, I know that you have no idea what to get me for my birthday, so why don’t you buy me this?”  In my defense, I am not being greedy. He asked me what I want for my birthday.  But as he does not write it down or repeat it to himself twenty times, he usually forgets the item within 24 hours.  And after I’ve passed the obvious statement stage, I don’t repeat myself.

It has become a little game over the years.  Even when we were dating, he would forget the hints or the requests and buy me something completely unrelated.  And what he does buy me is usually great… but it’s not what I asked for.  So I can’t help but tease him a little…

So this year, to finally buy me what I need or have asked for, he has decided to take me shopping on Saturday to pick out my birthday gift.  🙂  It’s a cute gesture. And since we’re not spending a whole lot this year in order to save money on household items, I think it’ll work out well.  Because for me, spending an entire Saturday with my husband is better than any birthday gift he could buy.

But to get him started, I’ve already picked out two little gifts that I’ve been meaning to get.  Confessions of a Shopaholic and an insulated Starbucks cup (it looks like the real deal, but it’s actually reusable… perfect for the iced teas and coffees that I bring to work).  These are the two things that I’ve really wanted for awhile. After that, I’ll just be happy to spend the day with my hubby. 

Thank you, Nate! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Memory Game

  1. Haha…oh, men. *shaking head* 😉

    You are going to have the bestest birthday weekend ever. I’m so excited for Friday and Saturday sounds like it will be fun for you guys too! 😀

  2. youngwifey says:

    Happy early birthday! You can totally play the bad memory thing to you advantage you know!

  3. Brittany says:

    sounds like my husband lol!

  4. Katie says:

    I”ve been dying for one of those starbucks cups! They are out of stock everytime I go in the store. Boo. I’ll live through you. 🙂

    Boys are silly – my husband and I don’t even exchange birthday/christmas gifts because it’s too much of a hassle for both of us to “hint” at what we want. Instead we just ask out parents for gifts and that saves us money…haha.

  5. dianacheung says:

    are sophie’s books good? I’ve been meaning to read them!

    • Nicole says:

      Sooo good! I mean, they’re not deep or philosophical or anything… 🙂 But they’re such a fun read, very quirky, and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny. They’re like the book version of a chick flick… perfect for a girl’s night in!!

Leave a Reply

