Flowers, Charcoal, and Rambling Thoughts

Okay, okay, I admit it.  I haven’t been cooking very much this past week or so.  Waiting for my Memere’s funeral was just as exhausting as going through it, so I haven’t spent as much time in the kitchen.  I think that cooking also reminds me of Memere, and while those memories are very special, I just wasn’t ready to deal with them yet.  Sooo, I’ve been depleating my leftovers supply and raiding the freezer for frozen stews, hamburger, and chicken that I can whip into a dinner.  I needed to give myself that time to mourn and just deal with the hurt.  But now, I feel as though I’m ready to move forward. So tonight, ladies and gents, there will be no leftovers served in my kitchen!

I am very proud to announce that the lilies in front of my house are flowering.  Why I feel this sense of pride, I have no idea, because I did absolutely nothing to them.  In fact, given my track record of killing plants, they would probably be dead had I so much as touched them.  But — still — they’re my very own flowers growing in front of my very own house… so, yes, I feel a tad bit proud.  (And maybe relieved… I almost pulled them out over the weekend, because I had convinced myself that maybe this bush was a weed and not a plant at all). 

I also discovered some daisies and buttercups growing in the backyard and gave my husband strict instructions to not touch them with the lawnmower.  🙂  I absolutely love wildflowers!  Not only are they beautiful, but they’re very hearty plants and can survive easily… despite my less than green thumb.  All they need is the sunshine and rain that God sends their way.

Now, to end this rambling post, I must share a pic of my kitty Stitch with you.  While my husband was preparing the grill for dinner, my cat decided it would be fun to play in the box of charcoal.  My husband and I didn’t see  him do it…. but we did soon find a kitty with black paws (when they should have been white). He also had a streak of soot running across his fluffy, white face.  Hmmm, never a dull moment when my cats are around!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flowers, Charcoal, and Rambling Thoughts

  1. Oh Stitch…maybe he just wanted to look more like handsome Highstreet? 😉

    The flowers are gorgeous! I hope they’re still around when I see you on Friday so that I can see them in full bloom. 😀

  2. youngwifey says:

    My day lilies started blooming too!

  3. shesarunner says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Memere. It is always sad when someone close to you passes. My thoughts are with you.

    Your cat is adorable…he looks a little like mine. Beau has the same colours in the same spots, and he likes to go where he doesn’t belong too.

Leave a Reply

