A Trip to the Tropics: Bargain Style

I’ve been infatuated with anything summery and tropical probably since my mom bought me my first pair of flip-flops.  And today, I’m taking that theme to a birthday extreme.  🙂  There’s a flip-flop air freshener hanging in my car…  Flip flop earrings hanging from my ears…  And some tropical colors scattered throughout the house.  Because if you’re going to have your family over for a tropical BBQ, you might as well do it right.  🙂

As my mom, sister, and I are going on a girl’s-only shopping trip for most of the day, I made sure that I got everything ready last night.  (Now before you ask why I — the birthday girl — am the one decorating, please understand that decorating was absolutely no chore. It was a blast!  In fact, I think that every family member should have their birthday at my house, just so I can decorate for them).

Now if you have to plan a birthday party any time soon, take my word for it: you should definitely stop by your local dollar store.  I bought every decoration for just a dollar each, because our dollar store had such an amazing, tropical selection.  I absolutely loved that since I was decorating on a budget.  (Trust me, I could have very easily gone out of control. When my sister and I visited a nearby party store, I was tempted to buy every single tropical thing… right down to the grass skirt and coconut braw).

But sometimes less is more, so I ended up just spending $4… But it was such a fun way to spend $4!  Let me show you…

For the kitchen centerpiece, I used fruit that I already had — a pineapple — and surrounded it by drinking glasses.  To bring a tropical feel to my ordinary glasses, I added an umbrella to each glass.  Now I have an oasis in my kitchen.  Cost: $1.  (Except for the pineapple, which I already had).  🙂

For the dining room centerpiece, I lined a square, glass vase with a bright napkin and then filled it with fun, drinking straws. These are not just any ordinary straws either.  The fun shapes form the outline of flip-flops (of course) and tropical flowers.  I also placed a small glass dish to its side and filled it with the remaining umbrellas (definitely will be using those tonight) and some tropical bracelets my sister bought for herself, me, and my mom to wear.

The menu will consist of your typical BBQ fair: turkey burgers, hamburgers, potato salad, tossed salad, and corn on the cob.  I’ve also added in a surprise: my homemade, baked onion rings.  (They’re easy to make, and I think my dad will really enjoy them). For dessert, instead of cake, I’m serving tropical sundaes.  We’re talking dishes of icecream that will be topped with crushed pineapple, coconut, strawberries, bananas, and crushed sugar cones (to represent the beach, of course). I also bought some of those new coconut m&m’s, just for fun. Oh, and hot fudge… I’m not sure what that is supposed to represent, but you can’t have a sundae without fudge!

It’s going to be a fun evening… but first, I’m off to enjoy the day.  🙂 Happy Friday, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Trip to the Tropics: Bargain Style

  1. youngwifey says:

    Enjoy your birthday! Nice straws, although to be honest I though they were chili peppers at first.

  2. shesarunner says:

    You are very creative! I never would have come up with all of that…and all from the dollar store! It looks great.
    I hope you have an amazing birthday!

  3. Katie says:

    I love festive, summery decorations like this! Hope your birthday was HAPPY and fun! 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh…best birthday bash ever. 😀 I love all the decorations, and I’m totally up for having you decorate my party this year…haha. 😉 Cowgirl theme, maybe?

    Happy, HAPPY Birthday! 😀

Leave a Reply

