Happy Endings

I haven’t felt this rested in a long time. Sometimes, I wonder if our bodies just make us sick so that we’ll be forced to slow down and sleep.  If that is the case, I’m partly grateful… and yet I also somehow feel as though I’ve been double-crossed.  Shouldn’t I have some input as to whether or not being sick fits into my schedule?  Because yesterday technically didn’t fit…

But, you ask, would you ever make time? Would you ever clear your schedule completely so that you could just relax or even take a nap if you needed it? 

And the honest answer is ‘no.’  No, I would not.  Because there is always something that needs to be done. 

And so, my body either forced me to slow down or I caught the flu.  Either way, I spent the morning and early afternoon in bed.  The Food Network was on for entertainment, but I mostly slept.  This little guy kept me company.  He has absolutely no problem with slowing down and sleeping.

I woke up to find that sunshine had chased away the clouds and rain… and my husband had put out the patio furniture.  He and I found these adorable patio chairs on sale at Target and made a decision to use a bit of the couch money for deck furniture.  Oh, and we picked up the fire pit.  Because these are the reasons why we moved back to the country.  We moved back for BBQ’s, campfires, and dinner under the stars.  I’d rather buy the living room furniture a bit later, if it means that we can enjoy our deck and backyard this summer.  Besides, it was on sale! So we actually saved money! 

As I sat outside and my husband served me some ginger-ale (yesterday’s beverage of the day), I felt as though I were on vacation.  I love how private the deck is, as it’s surrounded by a canopy of trees.  And the cafe style furniture only adds to the coziness.  Dressed in my sweats and a t-shirt, I almost felt as though I was too bummy to be eating there.  😉  Almost but not quite. 

And just over the deck, was the most beautiful rainbow I had ever seen.  I wish my camera could do it justice.  It was so bright that it glowed, and it had a perfect curve.  I have dubbed our hill ‘Rainbow Hill,’ because we seem to get a rainbow after every rain-storm.  They’re always so beautiful!

At about this time, I was hit with a wave of energy. I guess all that resting paid off, because I rushed off to the kitchen and announced that I was going to make banana muffins.  #1.  There’s nothing like the smell of baking banana bread.  #2.  I had three, brown bananas on my counter that were just begging to be turned into muffins.  #3.  I was really in the mood for banana bread. 

Sooo, I whipped a batch of these babies.  They’re full of sweet, banana flavor and are super moist.  But it’s also one of the fastest, easiest banana muffin recipes I’ve come across.  Definitely more of a dessert than a breakfast muffin, but also definitely what I had been craving.  It was a happy ending to a sick day.

Banana Muffins

3 lg bananas, mashed

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 slightly beaten egg

1/3 cup melted butter

—Mix the above ingredients together and add:

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cup flour

—-Grease 12 muffin tins and bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.    Enjoy!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Endings

  1. Stitch makes me want to snuggle with him whenever I see him. Look at little face. Ahh..I’m having major cat envy. :mrgreen:

    So glad to hear that you’re feeling much better and that you were able to sleep and relax a bit yesterday! Love the patio set and…of course…love the sound of those banana muffins. Yum! 😀

  2. youngwifey says:

    Rory seems to know when I’m sick and snuggles even more than normal. Sounds like you need to drink more herbal teas, keep the antioxidants up Nicole! Glad you’re feeling rested now.

  3. shesarunner says:

    I love when Beau sleeps beside me like that…it’s the most adorable thing to wake up to! And if I didn’t know better, I would say that was a picture of him…I have a few where he looks just like that. It’s too cute.

    I’m happy that you took the time to rest and that you’re feeling better. And happy belated birthday!

  4. dianacheung says:

    i made banana muffins yesterday!!!!

Leave a Reply

