Shapin’ Up: Getting Back into the Routine

It’s been awhile since I’ve had a shapin’ up post, so I thought I’d give you the grand update.  (That and I had planned on sharing my bran muffin recipe with you during today’s post… but then ended up burning them.  So that post shall wait for a more profitable cooking day).

First of all, I can’t stress enough the importance of keeping an exercise journal, especially when you’re just starting out (or getting back into the routine, as I am).  It not only helps you keep track of your improvements and goals, but it also keeps you accountable.  Nothing screams, “Do better!” than a blank spot on my exercise journal.  Yes, my journal screams at me.

When I was in the routine of running every day, I didn’t need the motivation. In fact, the thought of not running was extremely frustrating to me, and I was always upset when I didn’t have time to get out for a jog.  But now, since I’m trying to get back into that routine, I need that kick-in-the-pants to get me moving.  Because there’s always an excuse not to get out… but I always feel so much better once I have.  (And not only because I can write in my exercise journal).  😉

Secondly, I think it’s important to be flexible when it comes to exercise.  Because of my knee injury, I’ve been trying out different forms of exercise and slowly adding in a day of bikeriding, a day of walking, and then even a small hike.  I’ve realized that changing it up helps to keep it interesting.  And this way, I can almost always find an exercise that fits into the day’s weather, time restraints, and energy levels.  Today = sunny, so hopefully I’ll get out for a small run tonight after work / music rehearsal.  If not, I can do some stretching / strength-training inside.

I guess you could say that I’m past the pity stage in which I feel frustrated by my lack of knee strength.  I just want to get out there and to start pushing myself a bit.  I know that I’m not where I was before, but I’m doing more than I used to.  So it’s definitely a good start.

I don’t remember who said it, but I remember reading a statement by some comedian who said, “Losing weight isn’t as complicated as everyone makes it seem.  You just eat less and move more.”  And really, getting back into shape is just as easy.  It’s all about moving again and pushing past the feelings of, “I can’t do it,” or “I don’t feel like doing it.”  It’s hard at first, but then it’s so rewarding. 

And soon enough, it becomes routine and then you can’t imagine not doing it.  I can’t wait for that day… I’m not there yet, but working on it.  🙂

Happy Monday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shapin’ Up: Getting Back into the Routine

  1. I love your attitude towards working out!! It’s so important to mix things up and keep it interesting.

    And I’m definitely planning on keeping a workout journal soon myself—especially for strength training since I need some serious motivation for that. 😀

  2. dianacheung says:

    took me 3 years to make it a routine. take your time and remember to do it for YOURSELF. 🙂

Leave a Reply

