Boy Toys

I’ve heard before that girls marry men just like their fathers.  So it didn’t surprise me when I saw qualities in my husband that I had noticed about my dad while growing up.  And that’s a good thing.  Because I look up to my dad and still think that he’s a super-hero disguised as just a regular guy. 

But lately, I’ve noticed that my husband has been bitten by the very same bug my dad has been for years.  And I don’t know how to handle it.  It’s the Boy-Toy Bug.  And it’s obviously the same type of Boy-Toy Bug as my dad’s, because the toy is a motorcycle.

My husband notices every single motorcycle that passes us on the highway or that drives by our house.  Just last night, he tried to convince me that I want one too.  “Just imagine how great it would be to wrap your arms around me and go for a drive in the back of my motorcycle,” he said. 

I replied, “Why don’t we just go sledding this winter?  I can still sit behind you on the sled, wrap my arms around you, and I’ll even still feel the wind in my hair.”

He looked insulted. I thought it was funny and laughed until I was rolling on the floor.

But see, there’s something you need to know about guys, if you haven’t already guessed it.  They sometimes gauge their manhood by the quality of their Boy-Toys. You know how they make fun of us and how much time we take getting ready before a dinner date or a fancy function?  Well, they do the same exact thing.  Instead, rather than using makeup and a classy dress, they buy their Boy-Toys.  The big screen tv’s, the trucks, the motorcycles…  It makes them feel manly.

I read a book not long ago (Wild at Heart by John Eldredge) and it talked about how men have a wild side that they keep hidden.  After all, these days, the majority of our guys are sitting behind desks all day long.  They don’t get to experience the dangerous, passionate, free, and even a bit wild side that most of them naturally have inside them.  So buying that new, big screen tv is a conquest.  And riding that motorcycle is wild and dangerous (or at least would be if I dared drive one).

So I’m trying to be understanding when I turn on my computer and find that the last searched page was a used-motorcycle dealership.  And I don’t panic when I find a printed out description of a motorcycle sitting on the printer.  Because I understand that it’s a Boy-Toy and that he wants one.

However, I also understand that we can’t afford a motorcycle right now. So I am encouraging him to start chopping wood.  I figured that you can’t get any more manly or wild than lifting an ax over your shoulder and then letting it come crashing down onto a hard piece of wood.

It also doesn’t hurt that I want a campfire on Friday night and that we’ll need chopped wood.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Boy Toys

  1. hannahkaty says:

    Hilarious. I think your comment was funny as well, ha ha ha. I can just picture the moment playing out in my head.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  2. Haha…too funy. Oh men and their toys. *shaking head*

    And I love your comment on sliding compared to riding a motorcycle. :mrgreen:

  3. Jeannine Como says:

    Consider yourself lucky! My husband went from tractors to antique cars! However, I must admit that I like the antique cars also.

  4. shesarunner says:

    I think it is so funny that you call motorcycles boy toys! I actually love motorcycles. My dad also has one…he’s been riding them for as long as I can remember and he used to take me and my sister for rides when we were little (some people didn’t approve of this and thought it was dangerous…but we wore helmets and we were fine). Anyway, as we got older it was so much fun and really freeing to be on the bike. I think that maybe women have an inner wild side too! I would never ride a motorcycle on my own (I’m not that brave and I don’t trust myself that much) but I would love to be on the back of one again some day. However, if motorcycles aren’t your thing or you can’t afford one, I’m all for the wood chopping idea!

    • Nicole says:

      I actually do think I’d love riding on the back of a motorcycle. I’ve never done it, but it looks like so much fun. Maybe someday we’ll be able to afford one… 🙂 And I agree, we girls have an adventurous side too!!

Leave a Reply

