Hot Soup on a Hot Day

Imagine a snowy evening… You’re stuck inside your cozy, warm kitchen as the snow whirls outside and the wind howls against the windows.  And even though it’s a world of darkness outside, the lights in the house are all on and everything looks bright, as though your house is a lighthouse in a snowstorm.  And you serve your husband a large bowl of piping hot soup and crispy cheesegrills, cut into triangles… just as he likes. 

This is the backdrop that I was missing last night.  Because instead, it was sunny, a little too close to 100 degrees, sticky and humid… and there I was serving hot soup and ooey-gooey cheese grills.  What was I thinking? Oh, right.  That’s the problem. I wasn’t.

I guess I forgot that it’s now officially summer and that I should be turning to summer entrees, such as crisp salads, stir-fries, and cold sandwiches.  But honestly, I hadn’t realized that yesterday was going to be SO crazy hot.  And it’s quarter end at work (today is the last day, thank goodness) so I have very little time to spend in the kitchen.  So a quick soup sounded pretty good when I was putting together the grocery list.

Anyway, the soup is good…just don’t make it this summer.  Save it for a cool fall or winter day. Trust me, you will appreciate it SO much more!

Southwestern Bean Soup

1 large onion, chopped

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

2 cans (15 oz each) black beans, rinsed and drained

2 cans (14 1/2 oz each) diced tomatoes with garlic and onion

2 cans (14 1/2 oz each) chicken broth

1 can (16 oz) kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 can (15 oz) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn

4 garlic cloves, minced

 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder

1/4 tsp hot pepper sauce

1.  In a Dutch oven or soup kettle, saute the onion in oil until tender.  Stir in the remaining ingredients; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 5 minutes or until heated through.  (Yield: 12 servings or 3 quarts)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hot Soup on a Hot Day

  1. Mmm…that is my kind of soup! Delicious!

    But I hear you on making hot meals. What is it with hot foods on hot days? Because yesterday I was in the kitchen making a meatloaf for today and I swear the kitchen was like one giant oven. Phew…I’m keeping the oven *off* today. 😉

  2. Jeannine Como says:

    Cumin? Peppers? What were you thinking? So what will you be doing with the other 10 bowls of leftovers?

  3. shesarunner says:

    I love bean soups! But I agree, it is definitely not the right time for them. Right now, I’m craving nothing but salads, raw veggies, fresh fruit, and smoothies.

  4. youngwifey says:

    During hot days, I try to bake or cook only during dark hours… when it’s cooled off a bit.

Leave a Reply

