Just a Fun Day

Yesterday was the last Saturday that Nate will get off from work until we both have a week off in October.  It was so nice while it lasted… I’ll definitely never take for granted how amazing it is to sleep in on a Saturday morning and then to lazily eat breakfast together.  Someday… Someday we will both have the same work schedule.  I just know it.

But since yesterday was the last Saturday, I wanted to make it special.  So after we had slept in, I whipped up some pancakes and scrambled eggs for breakfast.  Because yesterday, a bowl of cereal or oatmeal just wouldn’t do.

I have decided that breakfast is probably my favorite meal to cook.  When it comes to breakfast, I get it.  There is absolutely no mystery.  I know why I add the baking powder… I know that I can add more sugar to make it sweeter… I can add any ingredient I want to adjust the pancakes flavor.  I can experiment to my heart’s content, and it usually is still edible after.  How much fun is that!?!  😉 

And scrambled eggs… well… they’re just so easy.

I stuck to a simple pancake recipe that I have been making since highschool.  There is nothing flashy about these pancakes, but they come out fluffy and they’re super quick to throw together.  Their simplicity made them perfect for the blueberry-orange sauce I poured on top (made with the last of my frozen blueberries).  — Recipe will be posted next week– We ate breakfast on the porch and enjoyed the early morning sunshine.  I couldn’t have been happier had we been dining at a cafe in Paris.  (Or at least I don’t think so.).

After getting some work done around the house, we picked up my sister Sarah (a.k.a. my absolute ‘bestest’ girl-friend in the entire world) and headed out to Jordan’s furniture to watch Toy Story 3 in Imax.  Now I thought that giving us an hour to get there would be plenty of time. What I had forgotten is that we don’t live in the city anymore.  So I should have added at least an extra twenty minutes onto the time. 

And I hadn’t planned on us getting lost…

It was a little bit tense for a couple of minutes, because we had already bought our tickets…. and time was ticking. But between Nate and Sarah’s map-reading skills (I am absolutely no help in that category so I just offer to fold the map afterward), we managed to get back onto the highway and onto the correct exit ramp.  There was another tense moment when we realized that we had two minutes to find a seat and that the show was already sold out.  Yes, we already had our tickets, but I was afraid that we wouldn’t be able to sit together.  But there were three seats together on the very front row, and I don’t mind sitting up front when it’s a 3D movie. So again, everything worked out.

Disney did a great job with Toy Story 3 by the way.  It was a great way to finish up the story of Woody, Buzz, and the rest of the gang.  I definitely laughed a lot, and there were a couple of times that I was glad I had the 3D glasses… just to hide the tears.  How can Disney make you laugh super hard one minute and then make you feel like you’re about to burst into tears the next? 

After the movie, we stopped at Panera for some dinner. Again, we got a bit lost in our attempts to find the restaurant… and we only ended up finding it because Nate took a detour through a random parking lot.  But again, we found our destination and enjoyed a…

Chicken salad…

… half a Turkey Sierra sandwich with half a salad…  (I always, always, always order the same thing. Ha, ha)

 … and a Turkey Sierra sandwich with a cup of broccoli cheddar soup. (Nate earned some serious brownie points by telling me that the soup just isn’t as good as my homemade version).

It was a FUN day spent with my two best friends.  What more could a girl ask for??  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just a Fun Day

  1. Jeannine Como says:

    Sometimes, when I’m reading your blog, I feel like I’m watching Rachel Ray. It’s the way you put things——-and it’s so much about cooking! But, keep it coming. I enjoy it very much.

  2. shesarunner says:

    It sounds like you had such a great day with your husband and your sister! And I think it’s awesome that you and your sister are so close. I’m also really close with my sister, and I consider her my best friend.

  3. I had so much fun (as always!) 😀

    And taking the scenic routes (aka, getting lost) makes life fun and interesting…haha. :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

