Lessons from June

There are only a couple of days left to June, and I’m glad.  It was a rough month for my family.  Between my grandmother’s funeral and then finding out that my cousin (age 34) has stage-4 stomach cancer… well…I’m not sad to see this month go.  In fact, as fast as it flew by and as shocked as I am that we’re already stepping into July, I’m also amazed at how long it felt.  I can’t help but wonder how so much happened in just one little month.  In some ways, it felt like a lifetime.

But if nothing else, it was a lesson on priorities… on what really matters.

The day after my grandmother died, my sister and I had to run an errand.  And we didn’t care that we walked into the store without wearing makeup and that maybe we were having a bad hair day.  Suddenly that didn’t matter.  What mattered was family.

Now I’m not saying we should all let ourselves go.  But I realized then how much energy I usually spent on makeup or hair and just trying to look perfect. And if I was having a bad hair or makeup day, I’d normally freak out.  And losing someone I loved reminded me just how precious life is and just how insignificant some of my worries were.

In the end, it doesn’t matter if I walk into work and my curls are slightly more frizzy than normal.  It doesn’t matter if I can’t afford to buy designer clothes.  Because in the end, things that money can buy don’t matter.  In the end, it’s all about the ones you love.  They matter.

If nothing else, this month has taught me to live every day as though it were my last.  To make time for people, laughter, and new experiences.  To not sweat the small stuff and to enjoy the simple moments.  To stop dreaming and start doing.  In the end, you have one lifetime to live.  So live it!

And if nothing else, this month showed me that my family is strong… that my husband is one of the most caring men I have ever met… that my sister and I are closer than I could ever be with anyone else…  and that every single day is an amazing gift from God.

What did this month teach you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lessons from June

  1. I learned a lot this month too—most of which you mentioned right here for yourself!

    Life is too short not to smell the roses. I’ve decided to start taking this quite literally, and start living life to the fullest. Even if that means something as simple as running through a sprinkler while out on a walk or a run. Or dancing to your favorite song while walking through the mall. :mrgreen:

    Love this post!!!

    • jelillie says:

      This was an incredible post! The truth really crystallizes in the dark moments doesn’t it? “Important” and “not-so” really become clear. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. love1025 says:

    i am so sorry for your family-gosh what a hard time for you. Happy July! I learned that change can be a good thing…

Leave a Reply

