Pancake of the Month: Plain (with Blueberry-Citrus Syrup)

Because June is my birthday month, I had originally planned on choosing a fun, unique pancake flavor for this month’s Pancake of the Month.  But on Saturday morning, as I pulled out my skillet and a bag of flour, all I wanted was a simple pancake.  Plain.  Easy.  Quick.

After all, I had big plans for the day and didn’t feel like spending too much time in the kitchen.  So I pulled out my quick, plain pancake recipe. 

When Nate and I first got married, he bought himself a box of Bisquick when he wanted pancakes.  I put a stop to that right away.  It’s so easy to make homemade pancakes from scratch, and they not only taste better than the boxed version… but they’re also healthier because they don’t have all that added ‘stuff.’  In fact, I sometimes would put together the dry ingredients and then write out the directions on a notecard. So then it is like you have a pre-packed mix. 

To add a bit of flair to the simple breakfast, I made a Blueberry-Citrus Syrup.  My favorite pancake topping is still the plain Blueberry syrup I make sometimes.  But the orange flavor added a surprising twist and made for something different.  (I halved the recipe, because there’s only me and Nate.  It still made more than enough, so you might want to consider that if you’re cooking for just two or three people).

What’s your favorite pancake topping? 

Super Simple Pancakes with Blueberry-Citrus Syrup

Fast’n Easy Pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 beaten egg

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons cooking oil

1.  In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, combine the egg, milk, and cooking oil.  Add egg mixture all at once to the dry mixture.  Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy).

2.  For standard-size pancakes, pour about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or heavy skillet (I use nonstick cooking spray).  Cook over medium heat about 2 minutes on each side or until pancakes are golden brown.  (The secret is to flip the pancake when it’s surface is super bubbly and the edges are slightly dry).  Serve warm. 

Blueberry-Citrus Syrup (as found on Allrecipes.com)

2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

1/4 cup water

1 cup orange juice

3/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup cold water

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (optional)

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1.  In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the blueberries, 1/4 cup of water, orange juice, and sugar.  Stir gently, and bring to a boil.

2.  In a cup or small bowl, mix together the cornstarch and 1/4 cup cold water.  Gently stir the cornstarch mixture into the blueberries so as not to mash the berries.  Simmer gently until thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon, 3-4 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in the almond extract (if using) and cinnamon.  Thin sauce with water if it is too thick for your liking.

Serves 8

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pancake of the Month: Plain (with Blueberry-Citrus Syrup)

  1. I LOVE pancakes!!! And your recipe sounds fabulous! I can’t wait to try the blueberry-citrus syrup. Can you imagine how yummy that would be with freshly picked berries? Mmm…

    My favorite pancake topping? That’s a tough one, but I think I’d have to vote for sliced bananas, walnuts and a drizzle of maple syrup. 😀

  2. lisaou11 says:

    I agree with you–pancakes are way too easy to make and you can make them so much better.

    I love the blueberry syrup. Im saving it, Sean loves toppings.

    Im not one for big toppings though.

  3. Young Wifey says:

    I make my own “pancake mix” ahead time too! The syrup sounds delicious, may have to try it after we go blueberry picking in July.

  4. Katie says:

    Yum! Good work on these – they are beautiful!

    • Aziz says:

      I love your writing, I used to have a friend he was called Nate being in Arabia I thought that is the only person in the world his name is Nate.
      My best regards
      Aziz

Leave a Reply

