HOT!!!

Has it been hot where you live these past couple of days?  New England has been a sauna for most of the week.  Sweaty. Sticky.  So hot that you could probably boil an egg on your tongue if you stuck it out long enough.

Okay, slight exaggeration. I think I’ve earned it, since we don’t have air conditioning in the house.  (Well, we do have one in the master bedroom. But it was so hot last night, that the machine couldn’t keep up.  So it was still super hot… even though the air conditioner was running full force).  All week, my makeup has dripped off my face as I’ve put it on.  And who needs jogging. I’ve worked up a sweat when I’ve walked across the yard to check the mail.

Going to work has suddenly felt like a good thing. My desk area is nice and cool.  It’s too bad they don’t have a ‘Bring your husband and cats to work day.’  Then my happiness would be complete.  It’s hard to enjoy the cool air, when my husband and cats are withering away from the heat back home.

Ninety-eight degrees Farenheit. That’s what my car’s outdoor temperature read when I drove home at 5pm yesterday.  Sometimes, it’s better not to know.

I pulled into my driveway and noticed my neighbors splashing around in their above-ground pool.  I would have been happy to sit on the ground next to it, just so I could catch some of those splashes.  And my husband was out watering the lawn.  I envied those blades of grass.  I even envied my husband when he turned the sprinkler on too soon and ended up soaking himself.  There has to be a kid for me to borrow so that I have an excuse to run around in the sprinkler.

If it gets any hotter, I have a feeling that I won’t wait to borrow a kid. I’ll just run through it and deal with the neighbor’s raised eyebrows at a later date. 

Today at least feels a bit cooler, because the sun is hiding behind clouds.  Maybe we’ll get some rain?  Still, I think that it’s going to be an iced coffee day. And when I leave for work, I think I’m going to forget my umbrella… on purpose.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HOT!!!

  1. lisaou11 says:

    You are my hero for being able to handle the heat without AC!

    usually OKlahoma is 95-105 this time of year, but its been in the 80s since its rained everyday for the past week!

  2. Jeannine Como says:

    I think I’m meeellllllllltttttttttttttiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg!

  3. Yes, YES! You can borrow me! I’ll be that “little kid” for the day and run through a sprinkler with you. It is, after all, on my bucket list. 😉

  4. jelillie says:

    I laughed right out loud! Nicole don’t worry about what the neighbors say. Run in the sprinkler! If anyone looks sideways at you just walk up to them and introduce your invisible child. They will never mind you running in the sprinkler again

  5. bellawilfer says:

    It’s been a brutal week, hasn’t it? My workplace has NO air conditioning except in the computer room and the lab. I think we hit a high of 94 on Tuesday, with an average high of 89 every other day.

    And next weeks is supposed to be hot again! *groan* I love summer, but this is overkill!

  6. Mandy says:

    Mental note not to have you visit TX in the summer. : ) We’re just happy when it stays under 100! We do have AC in the house and both cars, though, which means: temperature = good, electric bill = bad.

Leave a Reply

