Blogger’s Block

I actually have Blogger’s Block.  Is there such a term?  If not, then there should be.  The definition?  The inability to come up with an interesting topic to write about for one’s online blog.  It’s like this little voice in my head that says, “Ha, you didn’t do anything interesting these past couple of days, did you??  So now what will you write about?  The hot weather? Oh, yeah, you already did that!”  And on top of that, my voice has a laugh like Jack Nicholson’s.  Yeah, creepy.

Okay, okay. So there are no voices in my head, I promise!  But sometimes, there’s a whole lot going on up there.  Just yesterday, as my husband and I were browsing the book section of a local supermarket (I totally gave in and bought a Nicholas Sparks novel), I started rambling about a scene from one of my hopefully-soon-to-be-written novels.  And Nate kind of watched me with wide eyes and open mouth, before he shook his head and said, “Wow, so that’s what goes on in your head, huh?”

I’m not quite sure how I was supposed to take that, so I’m going to say that it was a compliment. 

What can I say?  The writer’s mind is a complex thing.

Someone once told me that writers should write about what they know… about what they have experienced.  But I say that’s a rule that was meant to be broken… and that has been broken time and time again. Do you think that Nicholas Spark’s has ever been a young girl, falling in love just as she’s dying from cancer?  Doubt it.  But somehow, he captures it.  Causes you to cry from it.  And then makes you go out and buy the movie because you just can’t get enough of it.

I’ve never had marriage problems.  Never considered cheating on my husband.  Never struggled with the attentions of another man, just because my husband was seemingly too busy to show me the attention I craved.  Never come to the realization that maybe I’m the one who helped push my husband away. 

So as I was outlining the scene for my husband, telling him about how this female character of mine had made the decision to fight for her marriage just as her secrets were about to be revealed… well, my husband was a bit freaked out.  Maybe wondering how I could create a female character who feels so alone… without also being alone myself.

But the thing is, when you’re a writer, you imagine.  You notice.  You feel.  And then, you have to write it down or else you’ll explode.  I mean, when I was a seven-year-old, I wrote about a talking peanut.  And I promise you, a peanut has never talked to me. 

That’s just how it is.  There are no rules.  It’s all about imagination and bringing readers on a journey with  you… a journey that neither of you have been on before. 

Well, that’s how it is mostly.  There are days like today… when you have a Blogger’s Block.  And then, you can’t think about anything to write about at all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogger’s Block

  1. Jeannine Como says:

    Well, I guess you didn’t have Blogger’s Block at all, did you?!

  2. I wish I wrote like you when I experience blogger’s block. 😉

    Let me know how you like your new Nicholas Sparks book! I bought two new books for vacation and I can’t wait to get started. 😀

  3. ladyfelicity says:

    I hope it’s not too late to comment – I came from Krista’s blog, Between the Stacks, and wanted to say that this post made me laugh out loud! I write too and … well … you’re so right. Sometimes I freak my sisters out with out-loud-ramblings about things that may (or may not!) end up in a books someday. The talking peanut … THAT was the point at which I stopped smiling and started laughing! Thank you for reminding me why I love writing and for brightening my day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

