Cooking, Vacation, and Green Monsters

1.  First of all, for those of you who enjoy the cooking / recipe segments of this blog, I promise you that there is plenty of kitchen-time coming up.  I haven’t taken a vacation from cooking. Rather, I’ve been trying some new recipes, and I’ve come to realize that most of them need a bit of tweaking. I wasn’t 100% satisfied with the way things turned out.  But never fear, I’ll be back to posting about my cooking escapades in the next several days!

I’m also excited about a new cooking segment that I’ll be adding to the blog. In memory of my Memere and all the time she and I spent together watching the Food Network, I’ll be cooking recipes by some of her favorite chefs (starting with Paula Dean).  🙂  The segment title will be Cooking With: and I’ll fill in the chef’s name.  It’ll be a way to not only try new recipes but also to feel like — even though Memere is gone — she isn’t too far away. 

2.  That said, I will be taking a blogger’s vacation on Wednesday and Thursday, as I’m leaving Tuesday afternoon on a mini-vacation.  I will probably have some guest bloggers when I go away for a week in October.  But this quick trip is all about escaping technology and just living in the moment.  I can’t explain to you just how much I need this time away.  I think I’m most excited about not being a slave to time. You can be sure that I will not be wearing a watch or staring at the clock.  Where am I going?  One word: mountains!

3.  Oh, and I tried a Green Monster for the first time yesterday!  (Hold your applause).  For those of you who associate a green monster with the large wall in Fenway Park, I must explain.  It’s a smoothie, which at its very minimum is made up of milk, a banana, and two cups of spinach. Yes, I am telling you the truth.  Spinach in a smoothie.  I’m going to be honest with you. I wasn’t a huge fan.  I loved how the spinach was completely blended into the smoothie and that there was no consistency of leaves (because that would just be gross). But I was a bit freaked out by the glowing green color (slight exaggeration) and the taste that was left in my mouth afterward.  Still, it honestly wasn’t disgusting.  AND, I had drank two cups of spinach, which has a boat-load of health benefits.  I am totally excited about that!

So will I be drinking one again?  YES!  Will I be adjusting the ingredients a bit? YES!   I’m thinking that some frozen blueberries will change the color enough and add the extra touch of flavor I needed.  (Thank you to Meg at Life is Better than Fiction for the link to greenmonstermovement.com,so that I could get started in this green smoothie phenomenon).  Once I come up with a flavor that I like, you can be sure that I’ll write about it.  🙂  What about you?  Are you a Green Monster fan?  Is there a flavor combination that I should try?

Do you have any get-away plans for the summer?

4. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cooking, Vacation, and Green Monsters

  1. You totally need to try the green monster with a frozen banana…and soymilk which adds another touch of sweetness. Love it. So good! 😀

    Can’t wait to see you on Tuesday! 😀

  2. Jeannine Como says:

    I can’t get away diring the summer, because there is so much yard, garden and pool work to do——–but I love it! Do you want some fresh zuccini?

  3. Katie says:

    Love, love, love the green monsters! Glad you tried one – they’ll grow on you. 🙂 My favorite combo: raspberries, protein powder, spinach, banana, water, soy milk. Deeeelish.

  4. Meg says:

    Oooh, I’m thrilled you tried green monsters! And thanks for the shout out! 🙂 The green color was totally intimidating to me too. I use almond milk and bananas with some spots for the most sweetness. Recently, I started adding a spoonful of almond butter too.

  5. Stephany says:

    I actually tried my first green monster this past week! Surprisingly, I didn’t mind it, although it was a little bland. But I do want to try some different recipes to make it a little more yummier, because it’s SUCH a healthy shake!

Leave a Reply

