I’m Back!

My pepere always says that when you’re on vacation, you should wake up every morning and remind yourself of that fact.  That way, you’ll enjoy every moment and not take it for granted.  From experience, I know why.  My mini-vacation went by so fast, it almost felt like a dream. 

But it was still so worth it!

Now if you’re thinking that my post is going to turn into one of those This-is-What-I-Did-on-My-Vacation-and-Here-are-all-the-Pics Segment — well — you are correct.  I can’t help it.  So it’s a good thing that I don’t go on vacation very often.  😉

My parents rented a rustic, yet cozy, cabin in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.  They were staying for the week, but graciously allowed me and Nate to come visit for a couple of nights.  For me, you can’t get any better than that.  A vacation with my family AND the man I love?  Now that is happiness! 

But as I mentioned, the cabin is rustic.  I’m talking about toilets that have flushing instructions above them.  I’m talking about having to drive up a mountain road in order to reach the driveway.  I’m talking about woods and pretty much nothing else.  I loved it.  Sometimes, there’s nothing like leaving it all and just living.

Even without hiking, New England had plenty to offer.  Like quiet, relaxation, and peace…  (My sister and I had WAY too much fun posing for the camera)

And it provided time for me to spend quality time with my two favorite guys:  my dad and my husband.  Love them both SO much!

And despite the threat of rain showers (and a bum knee), we did manage to fit in a bit of hiking.  The waterfalls were so beautiful, they almost didn’t look real.  So simple.  So perfect.

Sometimes, it really is in the quiet times that you realize what really matters. 

Maybe that’s what I love most about the forest…  It’s all about simplicity…

It’s all about the majestic.  There’s nothing like a mountain to show you just how small you really are in the grand scheme of things…  (But God still sees and loves us.  Man, that gets me every time!).

And, of course, when you’re with my family, it’s all about good food!  🙂  My dad took us to North Conway for dinner, and we ate at the Muddy Moose.  For an appetizer, we had mussels sautéed in garlic and white wine.  Words can’t describe.  Oh.  So.  Delicious!

And the bread?  Oh, don’t get me started on the bread.  So crispy on the outside yet perfectly soft and doughy on the inside.

Who cares about what I ate for dinner.  The appetizers stole the show.  And then when we stopped for coffees soon afterward, I became the show.  Does anyone else get a bit crazy once caffeine hits your system?  Well, it has that effect on me. And it doesn’t take long. It’s like silliness in a straw. 

Then again, I tend to drink coffee when I’m around my sister… and I tend to be hyper / crazy when I’m around my sister. So maybe it isn’t even the coffee at all but really just the effect that she has on me?  Because on the ride home, when the coffee should have wore off, she and I laughed so hard we cried.  And I can’t even remember what we were laughing at.  Nate, Mom, and Dad just kind of shook their heads and said, “Oh Brother!”  And Sarah and I laughed at that too.

Don’t even get me started on the hat store….  What craziness.  What fun!

But the second evening ended and it was time to have our last dinner together.  (What a whirl-wind trip!).  We picked up a veggie pizza from a local restaurant and took the iced tea out of the fridge.  Add some nice glasses and cozy lights and you have yourself a first-rate dinner!

And then it was over and it was time to wake up at 5:30 on Friday morning for work.   Sooo much fun yet so few days. 

Okay, so I know that I have already bombarded you with photo upon photo… But allow me to share but a few more.  Because today, back home, we had the WORST thunderstorm ever.  I honestly wouldn’t have been surprised to see a tornado, because the sky had that eerie, greenish tint… and the trees were crashing back and forth from the intense wind. 

When the storm finally passed, the sky became this intense orange color as though it were on fire.  It reminded me of a scene from one of those end-of-the-world movies.  Both beautiful yet creepy.

Other than that, nothing much is new… 🙂 

When you go on vacation, do you veer on the side of rustic or refined?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. lisaou11 says:

    ah that’s great! looks beautiful. That’s awesome you got to get away and spend time with family!

  2. Caffeine and coffee…”silliness in a straw.” LOVE THAT! :mrgreen:

    I definitely prefer a rustic vacation because I love the idea of kicking back, getting dirty and having fun while I’m at it. 😉 But I think the best of both worlds would be ideal, since I also love dressing up and going out too.

  3. dianacheung says:

    I can actually FEEL the relaxtion you did through your pics!! I love how you vacationed with your whole family.

  4. Jeannine Como says:

    Mike & I have been going to No. Conway every Fall during foliage time. It’s really beautiful there at that time of year. We have eated at the Muddy Moose with one of our sons and his wife. We loved it there.

Leave a Reply

