Makin’ Plans

As my sister Sarah (from the blog Running to Slow Things Down) was enjoying her last day of vacation in the White Mountains, I was busy planning her graduation surprise.   Don’t worry, Sarah, there are no spoilers in this post, as I expect you to read it.  🙂

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am kidnapping my sister for a fun-filled, girl’s weekend in order to celebrate her graduation from college.  I told my husband that every girl who graduates should have a fun weekend to recuperate, celebrate, and commemorate.  He reminded me that I never had such a weekend.  I reminded him that I am also going to have fun on this weekend trip.  Hey, if you’re going to kidnap your best friend for a fun-filled weekend, you’re going to have fun too!  So maybe I’m having my celebration too, just five years late. 

Now I am obviously limited by finances, as a cruise doesn’t exactly fit into a newlywed’s budget.  (I couldn’t even wash enough dishes in the ship’s kitchen to pay for my fare).  And even an overnight stay in Boston was too steep for my wallet.  However, that said, I have come up with the next best thing!  Oh, yeah, I’m good!  😉

And yesterday, I headed to Boston to meet with my brother Matthew and his girlfriend Kelsey for some inspiration and ideas. 

Now I have never driven to Boston by myself, and I was nervous for one main reason: I don’t always pay attention.  One time, at the mall, I had absolutely no idea where I had parked, because I had been completely lost in thought when I parked my car and walked into the mall.  So I spent about twenty minutes walking around the parking lot, looking for my car.  (How in the world my bright yellow car can hide so well, I’ll never know).  But the thing is, a mall’s parking lot is one thing and the six-floored parking garage at the T station is another.  A lost car wouldn’t take minutes to find.  We’re talking hours, people.  And normally, when I take the T (an underground rail system), my husband is with me.  So while he’s guiding me around, I’m following along and chatting a mile a minute… not paying the least bit attention to what we’re doing or where we’re going. 

I realized this as I drove up a hill near the city and spotted the tall sky-scrapers rising into the sky.  But when I saw that city in the horizon, I only felt pure excitement.  Because fear or no fear, I love Boston, and I was going to make this work.

                        (Source)

Now I wish I could post pics of what we did and all the sights we took in… and all the amazing ideas I came up with.  Matthew and Kelsey were not only the expert tour-guides, but also willing to check out anything and everything.  But first of all, I can’t give my sister that much insight into what is running through my mind.  And secondly, I forgot my camera.    So I guess we’ll all just have to wait.  My sister has to wait to find out what I have planned.  You have to wait as well.  And I need to wait until my next trip to Boston to pull out my camera and share a bit of my favorite city with you.

I don’t think it’ll be a long wait. I want to go back to Boston as soon as possible.  I love it there!

And I can’t wait for my sister’s surprise weekend!  It’s going to be a blast.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Makin’ Plans

  1. Meg says:

    Oooh how secretive! I’m sure whatever you plan will be a blast! I don’t always pay attention either. I once parked my car in a parking garage and forgot how high I had parked, and was CONVINCED my car had been towed. I eventually found it and felt more than a little dumb.

  2. Okay, now I’m dying with suspense. If you were sitting right here next to me, I would beg you to share all the gritty details. But I’m holding myself back, and keeping myself away from the phone. Fighting the urge of calling you up this very second.

    (p.s. Don’t share the details no matter how much I beg you, even in a moment of weakness, k?)

  3. I”ve lost my car many times… I’m the girl that keeps pushing the remote start until I hear my car horn… ha ha

  4. shesarunner says:

    That is so sweet of you to organize a surprise weekend for your sister! Hope you two have fun.

    I am actually really good at remembering where I park my car. That’s why people like to keep me around haha. When I’m there, they never walk out of the mall and have to look around for where they parked.

  5. dianacheung says:

    I’ve been DYING to go to boston or seattle or portland this year!! PLEASE GO and take pics and make me jealous! Fear is for people who DON’T LIVE! have fun girl!

Leave a Reply

