Orange Ice

I packed more summer into the past two days than I experienced in the past month and a half.  It was perfect.  From the bikerides, to visiting Boston, to going out for icecream, to having a leisurely BBQ with my husband, this weekend was the best.  Sometimes I think that exercising, whether it be bikeriding or going for a run, helps to slow the day down.  I’m not quite sure how it works.  But it really does seem to be the case. 

When Nate and I got back from our 9-mile bikeride last night, I couldn’t believe that it was only 6:30… and that we had the rest of the day to spend together.  While he took care of dinner on the grill, I pulled out a treat of my own:  Homemade Orange Ice.  Super light and refreshing, it was the perfect way to end a fun-filled summer day!

Orange Ice — Makes 6 cups

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 envelope unflavored gelatin

3 3/4 cups orange juice

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon grated orange peel

1.  In a saucepan combine sugar and gelatin.  Stir in 2 cups of the orange juice.  (I used Tropicana, because I think they make the best).  Cook and stir until sugar and gelatin dissolve.  Remove from heat.  Stir in remaining orange juice, the milk, orange peel, and if desired, a few drops of orange food coloring.  (Mixture may appear curdled).

2.  Transfer mixture to a 13x9x2-inch baking pan.  Cover, freeze several hours or until almost firm.  Break mixture into small chunks; transfer to a large, chilled mixing bowl.  Beat with an electric mixer until smooth but not melted.  Return to pan.  Cover and freeze until firm.

Per 1/2 cup: 14o calories, 1 g total fat, 0 g saturated fat, 2 mg chol, 12 mg sodium, 33 g carbo, o g fiber, 2 g pro

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Orange Ice

  1. This looks so summery and perfect! I wonder if it would be possible to make a watermelon flavored one too?

    Definitely trying this recipe soon!! 😀

  2. Abby says:

    This looks so yummy! I could use some about now, haha. I love it when it’s still hard and has a little bit of crunch to it and hasn’t melted yet.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. lisaou11 says:

    so refreshing looking!

  4. shesarunner says:

    That’s a very interesting recipe! It reminds me of palate cleansers that they serve at fancy restaurants. From what I can remember, they are very good.

    I also notice that my day slows down after a long run…I think I’m just calmer. It’s very therapeutic for me. I tend to be a ball of anxiety, so getting that exercise in is such a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

