To Bike or not to Bike

Well, it was nice while it lasted.  The bike-riding that is.  The brand new bicycle that my husband bought me for my birthday is already not working.  And, no, it’s not because I broke it!  I’ve only gone on two bike rides, and both were difficult because the gears weren’t working well… at all.  I was exhausted when I was just riding on a flat road.  And no, it’s not because I’m that out of shape.  Ha, ha.  When my husband went to exchange the bike, he tested the other bikes at the store and all of them had that very same problem.  That’s good ol’ Walmart for you.  We even read a review about a girl who got in a bike accident because her bike came apart as she was riding it down a hill for the first time.

Yeah, that made me feel really safe.

Unfortunately, we didn’t keep the receipt, so a manager at Walmart started to look up the credit card transactions for last month… and as she was looking through the files, the electricity went out and there was a tornado warning.  So needless to say, the receipt was forgotten.  And some guy took the bike to the back  room. So now we don’t have a receipt OR a bike. 

Oh the drama.  That’ll teach us to buy a bicycle from Wally World.  The moral of the story: you really do get what you pay for.  Hopefully my husband will get it all sorted out when he stops there tonight.  At least I can try going for a run.  That won’t cost me a cent.  Take that, Walmart!  (Can you sense the frustration?).  😉

Anyway, as bike-riding was out out of the picture last night — and my knee was still a bit sore from my last 9-mile ride — I finished up the weeding instead of going for a run.  And I have come to decide that I actually kind of like the chore.  I’m sure it would get mundane if I did it every day, but I love the excuse to be outside.  It’s almost calming.  (Although I will say that some of the weeds were more like small trees, and I had to use some serious muscle to get those root systems out of the ground). 

And as I was weeding, I was thinking to myself about how sad I’ll be to see summer end.  About how alive I’ve felt these past couple of months and about how I’ll never be prepared for months of hibernating from the cold.  And then it hit me.  Why do I have to hibernate?  Why can’t I actually make an attempt to like winter… to actually get out of the house and play in the snow like I used to?  Well, I’m not going to make any promises, but I can assure you that I will be trying this year.  I mean, when was the last time I went snow-shoeing?  The last time I made a snowman?  The last time I went for a walk in a snowstorm?  It’s been awhile!

Hmmm, the things I think about as I’m pulling weeds around the house.

Dinner was a quick stir-fry recipe that I had found in a flyer we got in the mail.  As I love oranges, I really enjoyed this one. 

Have a great Tuesday!

Honey-Orange Chicken Stir Fry

1 cup uncooked regular long-grain white rice

2 cups water

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (about 1/2 pound), cut into thin strips

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 cup orange juice

2 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 teaspoon grated orange peel

2 cups frozen sweet peas, thawed

2/3 cup salted cashews, optional

1.  Cook rice in water as directed on package

2.  Meanwhile, spray large nonstick skillet or wok with nonstick cooking spray.  Heat over medium-high heat or until hot.  Add chicken, salt and papper; cook and stir 3 to 4 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink.  (I used two teaspoons of oil so that the chicken wouldn’t stick)

3.  In small bowl, combine orange juice, honey, cornstarch, and orange peel; blend well.  Add peas and orange juice mixture to chicken in skillet.  Cook and stir until mixture thickens and peas are hot.  Stir in cashews.  Serve over rice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Bike or not to Bike

  1. This looks amazingly delicious, Nicole! I’m totally trying it out soon. 😀

    Oh, and sorry to hear about your biking woes. That’s such a bummer!

    I can’t remember the last time I built a snowman either. Sad, but true. I’m going to *make* it happen this year. 😀

  2. Stephany says:

    That sucks about your bike! And a little scary to hear about how bad they can be…makes me think twice about buying a bike from them.

  3. dianacheung says:

    moral of the story? Go to TARGET!

Leave a Reply

