Saturday Smiles

Some thing that made me smile today were:

Making lunch with my sister Sarah (who also just happens to be my best friend).  🙂  We also had a little fashion show to compare outfits for next weekend.  On Saturday, I kidnap her for the special Graduation Celebration, and she still has absolutely no idea what I have planned.  Keeping everything a secret has NOT been the least bit easy.  I basically call her every day and ask, “So can I tell you now??”  And she pauses a moment as if considering the idea, and then always replies, “No, I want it to be a surprise.” The girl has the will-power of an actress on a diet!!  (Which for the record, I think is sad.  Not my sister.  The diets that some actresses put their bodies through).

dropping off strawberry shortcake at my Pepere’s house.  My sister told me that Memere, who passed away just months ago, used to make Pepere strawberry shortcake every summer.  So she and I took a drive to his house and gave him two huge helpings.  The smile on his face was priceless. In fact, he dug right in and kept saying how good it was.  I don’t have a pic of him from yesterday, but here’s a pic from Christmas. Isn’t he so cute?? 

picking out the perfect outfit for a date with my husband.  I originally wanted to wear my new, white skinny jeans (which I haven’t had the courage or the excuse to wear yet).   But it was over 90 degrees out yesterday and crazy humid.  (I made the mistake of attempting to straighten my hair, and the humidity just kept curling it right back).  So suddenly my husband wasn’t the one complaining about having to dress up. I was!! I  just wanted a  cool top and a jean skirt. So we decided to make the date a bit more casual and then we’ll go for a nicer date next month.  🙂

  

… air conditioning… and a good hat to cover a bad hair day…

  

… great conversation, an amazing guy, and delicious food…  (I ordered the BBQ Chicken Salad… Soooo yummy!!).

 

…buying a ticket for one movie and then seeing another…and still being able to smile about it.  Nate and I bought tickets to see Inception, which EVERYONE claims is the must-see movie of the summer.  I was so crazy excited to see what it was like. So we bought tickets before dinner, and our ticket stubs said that the movie started at 6:45 in theater 6.  So we walked into theater 6 around 5:20, because we wanted good seats and expected the theater to be crowded.  Then we waited… and waited… and waited.  Finally, about 45 minutes later, I was a bit disgruntled that our movie hadn’t started yet. I was also concerned that maybe — just maybe — we were in the wrong theater. So I turned to the woman behind me and asked, “What movie are we hear to see?”  And she looked at me as though I had two heads, which I totally didn’t.  So Nate walked outside real quick and determined that we were indeed in theater 6… and our ticket stub said that’s where we were supposed to be.  Only the movie started and Salt with Angelina Jolie began to play.  They had made a mistake on our tickets!!! 

Oh, well, the movie was good and it’s just an excuse for us to have a date night again very soon.

And that’s something else to smile about!!  🙂

What made you smile yesterday?

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Smiles

  1. Stephany says:

    You are impossibly cute!

    I’m not sure I would have been able to let you keep the secret if I was your sister! :p

    What made me smile yesterday? Knowing I’m taking off for a 4-day trip to Orlando next week, yay!

  2. Katie says:

    I love that picture of you enjoying the air conditioning! I know that feeling so well! 🙂

    Also, so sweet of you and Sarah to take cake to your Pepere! I bet he enjoyed it so much!

  3. Haha…the air conditioning picture is priceless. I love that feeling of a cold car on a hot day. 😀

    So much fun yesterday! I can’t wait for the weekend, even though I have no idea what it is I’m excited *for*. And that’s what makes it so exciting. :mrgreen:

    Glad you guys had a fun date night out! 😀

Leave a Reply

