Shapin’ Up: Accepting Where You’re At, but Not Being Happy With It

Well, I am happy to report that my bike is back, and that it’s in working condition.  I, on the other hand, still need some work.  I’ve been struggling lately with accepting where I’m at physically. 

As my husband and I bought a house in the area I grew up in, the streets we bike through are the streets I biked through as a little girl.  But my abilities have been lessened, due to the knee injury.  Sure, my knee is getting stronger. I can tell.  But it’s taking awhile.  And on top of that, I’m definitely not in shape like I was back then, because the injury really lessened my work-out abilities.

And I’ve come to realize that I have a problem with this little thing called pride.  The other day, we had to tack on an extra 2 miles to our bikeride, because I refused to walk up the large hill leading to our house.  From the bottom of the hill, we were probably about a half mile from our home.  But I knew I couldn’t bike up that steep hill without my knee giving out.  So I talked my husband into taking a long loop, just so no one would see me walking with my bike.

I mean, how humiliating would that be, right??

Yeah, pride.  I’ve got some.

So that I don’t get frustrated and quit exercising (or run over my bike with the car), I’ve been trying to find some good in the situation.  Because if you look hard enough, there always is something positive.  And I’ve realized that I’m not as bad as I keep making myself out to be.  I have two strong legs that I can walk with, and I feel healthy.  So I should be happy with where I am, rather than angry at myself for not being able to do certain things.  That said, I should embrace the challenge of moving forward and becoming stronger.  That hill shouldn’t be my enemy as much as it should be my goal. 

And I shouldn’t be ashamed of where I am, as much as I should use it for good.  I can encourage other people who also will struggle when they first work out.  And — trust me — I’ll understand where they’re coming from when they say it’s hard.

So quitting will not be an option for me.  And I will one day bike up that hill!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shapin’ Up: Accepting Where You’re At, but Not Being Happy With It

  1. I totally know what you’re talking about. After taking a good 6 months off of running, I felt humiliated by the fact that I couldn’t run up that long hill by my house. I mean, just 6 months previously, I had been preparing for a half marathon, and all of a suddenly, 3 miles seemed like torture!

    Mad. Very, very mad. At myself, but mostly that hill. 😉

    And then I decided to conquer it peice by peice. Making it to the fire hydrant. Making it to that second telephone pole. Making it to that mailbox, etc. And when I finally made it to the point where I could run the entire thing, I did the Rocky dance, and I felt like Queen of the World.

    And by the way, you *are* strong, girl!! There’s always going to be a distance or a hill that seems unachievable in biking or running (a marathon runner would snuff at someone running 3 miles, even though right now that feels like my very own marathon 😉 ,) but just don’t forget that you are strong, healthy and happy. And that’s what matters. 😀

  2. hannahkaty says:

    You go girl! I need to take the kick in the butt from you and apply it to myself. Ever have those days that just barrel you over with doubt? Yup.. I am sitting square in the middle of one.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  3. shesarunner says:

    There is nothing to be ashamed of! If you have a knee injury, it is really important to let it heal and not let pride get in the way. I definitely know what it feels like to be sidelined with an injury or to not be able to do the things you used to, but it is only temporary…you will have all your physical abilities back with time. In the mean time, try not to be hard on yourself and do what you can. No one who knows you will think less of you for being injured, and who cares what everyone else thinks?
    Glad you are persevering and and trying to be happy with where you are…live for today because it will be yesterday soon!

  4. Stephany says:

    At least you got back on that bike and you’re trying. That’s more than a lot of people can say for themselves. It’s going to take some time before you’re back to where you used to be but at least keep working towards that!

  5. jelillie says:

    Wow! Two EXTRA miles? Do you know how long it’s been since I did two miles on a bike? Pat yourself on the back a little!!! Meanwhile your right we can none of us quit this constant work of self-betterment. So keep going!

  6. dianacheung says:

    stick with it! months from now you’ll reread this post and realize how far you’ve come!

Leave a Reply

