Sweet Pepper Steak

I think I may have found the secret to making a beef stir-fry.  I usually pan-fry the beef and then add the peppers and onions to the same pan. At which point, the beef becomes tough and over-cooked.  Last night, I cooked the peppers and onions separate from the beef, so that they could be cooked to crisp-tender perfection.  And I could focus on not over-cooking the steak strips. 

Also, instead of cooking the beef until it was completely done, I made sure that the beef strips were slightly pink when I tossed it in with the peppers and home-made stir-fry sauce.  That way, the beef didn’t over-cook when I allowed the flavors to blend and the sauce to thicken.  That extra one to two minutes of cooking can really toughen the meat if you’re not careful.

The recipe itself was very light tasting, so if you’re looking for a stir-fry that’s bursting with flavor… well… this one isn’t for you.  But the meat was tender, and I think the specific flavors used really brought out the sweetness of the peppers and onions.  And served over rice, it was a hearty way to fill up after a 10 mile bike-ride. 

Yes, I rode 10 miles on my bike, which I am very excited about.  I haven’t done that much since the accident!  Thanks for the encouragement yesterday, by the way!  🙂  I have come to the difficult — but important — decision of bike-riding through August and not even attempting to run until September.  I want to run, but I know that my knee isn’t strong enough.  Just from the bike-ride, I have a bit of knee pain this morning, so I’m icing it right now.  I really need to focus on low-impact, strengthening exercises for now!

Have a happy Tuesday!

Sweet Pepper Steak  — as adapted from Pillsbury.com

2 cups uncooked instant rice

2 cups water

1 cup beef broth

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

3 tablespoons ketchup

1/2 teaspoon white vinegar

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoons oil (plus 1 teaspoon)

1 lb. beef flank or boneless top sirloin steak, thinly sliced

1 medium onion, cut into 8 pieces

1 medium green bell pepper, cut into strips

1 medium red pepper, cut into strips

1.  Cook rice in water as directed on package.

2.  Meanwhile, in small bowl, combine broth, hoisin sauce, cornstarch, pepper, ketchup, vinegar, and Worcestershire sauce; blend well and set aside.

3.  Heat a teaspoon of oil in a nonstick skillet and cook veggies until crisp-tender. Meanwhile, heat 1 tablespoon oil in large skillet or wok over medium-high heat until hot.  Add beef ; cook and stir for several minutes or until beef is just slightly pink.  Combine beef and veggies and pour in cornstarch mixture; cook and stir 2-3 minutes, until sauce is bubbly.  Serve over rice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Pepper Steak

  1. Great tips on cooking the pepper steak! My steak always comes out tough and dry (unless I slow cook it of course!)

    I love how lean and nutritious top sirloin is, and I’d love to make a meal with it sometime next week. 😀

  2. love1025 says:

    we have steak in the freezer and I am totally busting out this reciepe for it tomm night! YAY!

  3. Meg says:

    Looks scrumptious! Cooking beef just right can be a little tricky. To comment on your previous post, I totally know what you mean about accepting where you’re at. It comes down to knowing what I should do and then doing it! At the same time, being kind to myself and realizing this too will pass. 😉

Leave a Reply

