Dear Magazine

Dear Style, Health, and Self-Improvement Magazine:

In a recent issue of yours, there was an article about loving the skin you’re inAnd I read it, expecting encouragement to be who I am… and to love who I am.  Instead, the words told me that I too can have leaner legs, tighter abs, and firmer arms by the end of summer.  It was all about loving yourself once perfection is reached… all about improving yourself so that you can be proud of your lean body.  Really, I was a bit frustrated by this.  Because although exercise and fitness are important to me, I believe that I need not be ashamed of who I am right at this very moment. 

I know that perfection sells, and that you think girls will buy your magazine in hopes it will magically turn them into flawless beauties.  But I have news for you.  We aren’t that stupid.  We know it takes work. We also know that we’re strong and beautiful now.  God made us that way.  We don’t need your magazine… or the diet pills that were advertised on that last page.

Oh, but I will say this, you did a great job with the picture of that girl in the bikini. It was air-brush excellence.  You should give the photo-shop guy a raise! 

Sincerely,

Nicole

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dear Magazine

  1. How true is this letter? I love it. You should send it in for real.

    And have you ever noticed that all the “health” magazines promote weight loss? I’ve never heard the word weight maintenance or improving one’s all around health & nutrition. No. It’s all about pinching calories and eating a cracker for breakfast and feeling completely satisfied.

    Anyways, love this post girly! 😀

  2. Stephany says:

    Ha! I love this! So perfect and TRUE. It’s pretty sad what they’re filling up magazines with nowadays.

  3. jelillie says:

    Excellent word. My question is why in the world do we as make people even allow ourselves to buy into such drivel. It’s a complicated issue which needs to be talked about.

  4. Jeannine Como says:

    Good for you! You DID send it, right?

    • Nicole says:

      I didn’t… But maybe I will send something in one time. 🙂 There are some really good magazines out there on health and fitness, but I think that a lot of them take an unhealthy approach. And I think that actually ends up hurting people!

  5. Meg says:

    I so hear you. I no longer pine over the models on fit magazines. I wonder why they feel they have to create an illusion from an already beautiful and fit girl!? Sometimes I struggle with where I am too. I know how to get where I want, and I’m not going to hate myself along the way. 😉 But you know what? Being healthy is a blessing that I take for granted all too often.

  6. shesarunner says:

    This pinpoints so much of what I was trying to say in my letter about JLH! I didn’t mean to attack anyone, I was just trying to get a point across. I think you said it perfectly!
    And you brought up the issue that magazines are constantly trying to “help us” to achieve ideal bodies…but what they are really saying is that right now there is something wrong with us. They are basically saying “Hey, there is something really wrong with you, but have no fear, we have the magic that will fix it and give you flat abs so that you’re no longer a fat slob.” Okay, maybe that is a little extreme…but how else are people supposed to internalize these messages? The bottom line is that by trying to “fix” something, you are implying that there is something broken. I don’t think this is true- I believe in being healthy and exercising, but not because you want to have a perfect body. I believe in doing it for your health. I don’t believe that anyone should feel they have to do something only to obtain a cookie cutter body shape. We are all individuals, we come in different shapes and sizes, and that is a good thing. Thank you for posting this! I love it.

Leave a Reply

