Snack / Lunch Over-haul

Where I work, September is our fiscal year end.  And August is just one step closer into the I’m-going-to-pull-my-hair-out craziness.  It will be the fourth time I’ve gone through this, but only the second time going through it as a married woman.  Already, I’m telling Nate to brace himself.  The ride is going to be bumpy… and not one bit pretty.  What can I say. I’m usually very easy-going, but when I’m that frazzled, pretty much anything can set me off.  (Not an exaggeration.  Anything can set me off). 

Already, I’m trying to prepare myself for the exhaustion, the stress, and the hectic schedule that will be my life for the next seven weeks.  I’m waking up a bit earlier, as extra prayer will be a must.  (Not only for me but also so that I don’t accidentally drive my husband absolutely nuts).  I’m clearing out my calendar a bit, making sure that I’m not too busy outside of work in September.  (I’ll need time to just come home and crash!)  And I’m focusing on food. 

Food really can make the difference when it comes to either feeling exhausted or feeling energized, and I’m lacking a bit when it comes to snacks.  And don’t even get me started on lunches. 

I have a love-hate relationship with the meal that is known as lunch.  My body loves it, because by noon I need the fuel to get through the rest of the day.  But the busy side of me absolutely hates putting together a good-quality meal that can be packed and brought to work.  I’ll admit it.  I have no creativity when it comes to lunch, whether it’s because I don’t want to take the time or just because I don’t want to put the effort into a meal that only I will enjoy.  But when I slack off on that meal, I end up tired by 3pm.  And if I’m already exhausted and stressed, well, that could be a bad combination.

So for the next seven weeks — starting Monday — I’ll be focusing on snacks and lunches. 

I’ll probably start with these…

Pom Wonderful sent me a case of their Blueberry Pomegranate juice to try!  You can be sure that these will make for a healthy snack, but I also can’t wait to try cooking with them.  The recipes on their website are endless!  But that’s the subject of an upcoming post, so I won’t get any more into these… for now. 🙂

What’s your favorite packed lunch for work?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snack / Lunch Over-haul

  1. FUN package!!! 😀

    One of my favorite packed lunches is cooked brown rice, topped with leftovers from the day before (roasted vegetables, chicken, black beans, salsa, etc.) Somehow it always tastes good, no matter what I throw on there.

    I also love a good ol’ tuna sandwich in a pita pocket. Somehow the pita makes it seem extra special. :mrgreen:

  2. dianacheung says:

    BIG ASS SALAD..i work at target so if i dont pack someething healthy i’ll grab chocolates, chips, and frozen foods….even a PIE.. 😦

  3. theclambroll says:

    My favorite right now is a whole wheat pita, spread with red pepper hummus, and filled with chopped lettuce, cucumbers, and onions. Drizzle with a little bit of balsamic vinegar…sooo good. I usually have a yogurt and a piece of fruit on the side.

  4. Oh fun! I love POM in seltzer.

    My favorite lunch is a big salad. Of course, when I’m out of groceries it turns into pb&j. Not my favorite but definitely my go-to super easy lunch.

  5. lisaou11 says:

    ahhh blueberry pom! yum!

    I like making turkey burgers on the weekend and bringing those to lunch!

  6. shesarunner says:

    My signature lunch is a salad with some chopped avocado, lots of raw veggies, and hemp seeds. It is so filling and so simple, and I really love it!

    I read the recap of your weekend with your sis- looks like you guys had a really great time! You are so sweet to do that for your sister.

Leave a Reply

