Back to the Basics

Love, love, love the lunch ideas that you all shared yesterday.  🙂  You can be sure that I’ll be trying each and every one of them in the upcoming weeks.  They all sound completely satisfying and absolutely perfect for the warm season that we’re in.  I can’t wait to add all that freshness to the grocery list next week!

Speaking of grocery  list, I think I need to work on the hubby a bit.  Yesterday, he came home from the grocery store without any fruit, because he said that he wanted to save money.  Oh, and the cereal he bought?  Definitely chocolate covered cheerios and corn flakes.  Sigh. 

Again, it’s all about accepting where you’re at and then moving forward from there.  Maybe I’ll have my sister Sarah (soon to be a nutritionist extraordinaire) come over to the house and give us a nutrition class.  You know, start with the basics.  A is for apple, it’s very good for me.  😉

I think that the less mature me (the me from last year) would have been frustrated to go back two steps, but honestly I see this as an adventure.  It’s our journey together and we’re both here to help each other out.  While I’m into obtaining a healthier lifestyle, he’s really good with organization (whether it be in regards to the budget or keeping the house clean).  One’s weakness is often the other’s strengths, so we just need to keep learning and growing from each other.  I can learn to be more organized in most aspects of my life.  He can learn to buy cereal with fiber.

I mean, how boring would it be if we were already perfect at everything?  Well, okay, it might be kind of nice.  But still, there’s joy in over-coming obstacles and reaching goals together.

Besides, I have a plan…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to the Basics

  1. I love your can-do attitude! It’s awesome and inspiring.

    And I’m very excited to hear all about your plan, just FYI. 😀

  2. jelillie says:

    You have a plan!?!!! I think that is the most frightening thing I have ever heard you say Nicole:) But I sort of can’t wait to see what it is.

  3. lisaou11 says:

    The plan sounds so devious! haha

    and boys–sometimes they just dont get the nutrition thing.

  4. Young Wifey says:

    Hubster’s the same way with groceries. If I send him for a few items, he comes home with a few tubs of ice-cream and a few bags of cookies since they were on sale… less expensive than the berries I wanted…

  5. Meg says:

    One of the best parts of marriage is that it’s definitely an adventure. But you share your strengths and work on your weaknesses together as a team!

Leave a Reply

