My Plan — The Beginning

First of all, I am surprised that many of you thought me sinister when I announced that I have a plan.  It is as though you pictured me standing over my sleeping husband, anxiously rubbing my hands together, and laughing sneakily to myself.  Oh, and let’s not forget my whispering – over and over – into his ears that he loves green leafy vegetables and tofu.

As if I would try to brainwash or hypnotize Nate into joining me in my quest for a healthier lifestyle.  Seriously, now.  I never even considered such a silly thing.  It’s in the personal decision to become healthier that the true victory is found.

Although I must now wonder, do you think such an option would work?  Seriously, if you’ve tried it, let me know how it worked out for you. 

Just curious…

Anyway, I realized yesterday morning –  as I munched on a bowl of cornflakes – that I’ve been tackling this get-back-into-a-healthy-lifestyle routine all wrong.  I’ve been going at it alone.  And the thing is, I’m married now. So even if I choose not to come home with a bag of chips or a box of cookies, they’ll still appear in my kitchen to tempt me, because they somehow followed Nate home.  And while I’m fighting the temptation known as chocolate, he’s struggling with the juice I stocked the fridge with.  Because while he’s trying to drink more water, the fruit juice is now there every time he opens the refrigerator door!

Okay, I admit it, I have a fruit juice addiction.  That’s the first step in recovery, am I right?

We’re going in circles because we’re not on the same page.  And so, here is my plan.  Every month, for the next twelve months, I will come up with two goals. One goal will be food related.  One goal will be exercise related.  Both goals will be ours to share together, so I’ll discuss them with Nate first to make sure he’s on board.  It’ll be an exciting journey to get healthier and more fit, but – most importantly – it’ll be a journey that we share together.  How much more fun will it be to see the accomplishments we’ve achieved when we’re accomplishing them with someone! 

I’m thinking that we definitely need a giant poster board and fun stickers.

And you thought I was coming up with some hostile plan. Tsk, tsk. 

On the other hand, exciting might not be the word my husband uses to describe this idea.  His first concern was whether or not this meant that I wasn’t going to bake him cookies anymore.  I assured him that this will not be the case. I do not believe that any food is off limits.  Some foods should just be enjoyed in a bit more moderation than others. 

He didn’t speak his second concern but it was written all over his face when I announced the second step to my plan.  Every other week, I will go grocery shopping with him.  Hey, I’m no expert on food labels, but I could have told you that cornflakes aren’t high on fiber.  😉 

Nate’s reaction?  Pure fear. That was what I saw in his eyes.  I assured him that this will be a great couple’s exercise.  Either that or it will make for some interesting blog posts.

And I’m sure there will be some mini plans thrown in once we officially begin the process in September. 

What can I say…  I’m fascinated by nutrition and health.  If I didn’t have a nutritionist for a sister, I’d probably adopt one.  I love how strong and healthy I feel when I eat right and exercise.  And being strong and fit is very important for my husband, because he has a job that can be dangerous sometimes.  But this is not about weight-loss or trying to look a certain way.  We won’t be going on the scale every week to check our ‘progress,’ because this isn’t about losing that last five pounds. It’s about taking care of the bodies God gave us.  That’s it. Nothing more.  🙂

So, what do you think?  It’s not that scary, is it? 

(Nate, don’t answer that!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Plan — The Beginning

  1. “It’s not about losing that last five pounds. It’s about taking care of the bodies God gave us.”

    Girl, this attitude will carry you sooo far with health and nutrition. Seriously. You have no idea how many people don’t look at it this way at all, but it’s the most important thing. A healthy weight is just the cherry on the icecream, so to speak. 😀

    (p.s. If you ever want to talk nutrition, I’m always up for grabs. No adoption necessary…haha!! :mrgreen: )

  2. lisaou11 says:

    haha-I love you!

    I think this sounds like a fantastic plan and hopefully it will be one where he learns about why it’s good to eat healthy and not just him thinking that he will have to eat lettuce and no cookings all the time!

  3. jelillie says:

    I truly repent before you!!!:) It sounds like fun! I think this will be beneficial and make for interesting blog posts.

  4. myFOODevents says:

    Good for you and good for Nate being on board with it… getting my boyfriend to do it with me would be my biggest feat.

  5. Stephany says:

    I love this! I think you’re going about it in the best way possible, making slow, gradual changes and getting your husband on board. I’m excited to see how this turns out for you guys!

  6. bradmhackett says:

    I think I will whisper into Stevens ear *Brad is the best brother alive* and see what happens, we will be going to the same school together and in the same house so that is an option.
    As for eating healthy and excersising I am all for that, I love eating healthy and excersising, you just feel happier, healthier and more alive!
    I had no idea Sarah was a nutritionist, that is just awesome!

Leave a Reply

