The Plan – August

Going grocery shopping instead of my husband sounded like a really good idea until I sat down with a calendar and tried to find the time to do it.  I pretty much narrowed it down to Monday nights after worship practice at church.  That would mean I’d be at the supermarket around 7:30pm and probably home around 9pm.  Ugh.  Not a fan of that idea.  So my husband and I have come up with a bit of a compromise.  He’ll still do the majority of the grocery shopping; but I’ll have a smaller, separate list of my own.  So I can be in charge of buying the items that I’m a bit more picky about, like the cereal and the snacks.  That fifteen minute stop at the grocery store will be much easier for me to fit into my work-week.

However, if I start to find stashes of cookies and chocolate hidden around the house, I’ll know that it’s time to take over the grocery shopping completely.  🙂

I think that having healthier options around the house will be a good start into our healthier-eating journey!  You can’t eat what you don’t have.  I do still need to watch the husband though.  Just last night, he tried adding half a stick of butter to his Annie’s mac’n cheese.  I grabbed the butter right out of his hands and ran. No lie. It was like exercise and a lesson in what-not-to-eat all rolled into one. 😉  (It’s a good thing that Nate loves me!). 

As for my plan, I’ve decided to start this month, because we really do have plenty of days left in August.  Why wait until September?

I think Nate needs a bit more time to get excited about this whole idea, so I’m choosing something simple… and something that he’s already good at. Drinking water.  I’m still lacking when it comes to drinking enough water throughout the day, but Nate guzzles it as though it were going out of style.

So August’s food goal:  Substitute water for other beverages whenever possible, and drink one glass of water with every meal. 

August’s exercise goal:  Get moving!  Be active for at least 20 minutes, three days a week.  (No distance goals this month.  Just focusing on getting out there and moving more than I am.  For me, this will probably include hiking, bike-riding, and walking.  Still waiting on the jogging until September so that I can focus on the knee-strengthening exercises).

Soooo…. let the goals begin!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Plan – August

  1. I love your goals! They’re to the point and achievable too. 😀

  2. dianacheung says:

    Glenn leaves at the end of the month…to kick out my emotional eating habit I plan on NOT buying the junk…cause you are right, if it’s not there, how can I gorge on it? Wish me luck and I wish you guys luck. I believe in you!

  3. love1025 says:

    ohhh i love these goals!!! i hate water..LOL.

  4. Abby says:

    That sounds so cute! Grabbing stuff from him and running. Best of luck! I found out that when I was in college and couldn’t afford to buy a lot of snacks my cravings for them disappeared after a while.

  5. jelillie says:

    It sounds like a good plan.I’m sorry though, aren’t you the girl who posted two weeks ago about the 10 mile bike ride. Isn’t that distance. Please tell me that’s distance! My distance goal this week is swimming across the pool sidways 10 times withoput needing to rest 🙂

    • Nicole says:

      Ha, ha. Yes, the 10 mile bikeride is distance. I’m just working at consistancy. Not so good at that these days. Good luck on the swimming!! That’s great exercise!

  6. Stephany says:

    I love your goals! I have been trying to drink more water so I like your idea of always drinking it at dinner & substituting whenever possible. I think I’ll use it! 🙂

  7. lisaou11 says:

    I love that you pick 1 goal for each. Small changes over time add up and that’s the only way to make them become habit and lifestyle!

  8. Meg says:

    Drinking water instead of other beverages is a really good goal. It is amazing how quickly your body no longer craves sugary drinks! I take my water bottle literally everywhere with me and it makes it much easier.

  9. shesarunner says:

    That sounds like a good plan to me! Good luck with it. I’m trying to drink more water too, because I usually get so caught up in my day that I forget. And it’s so important. Anyway, I’m sure you and your husband can pull this off!

  10. bellawilfer says:

    I’m doing good with the water (yay!), but I seriously need to work on the exercise. I’ve had a lot of headaches lately (stress!) and I have a feeling that exercise would help. The question is, where to fit it in! :-/ I’m going to start giving it a try, though, even it’s just 15 minute segments each day. As you said, it’s baby steps!

  11. Pingback: August Goals — Update « Simple Moments – Living Life to the Fullest

  12. bradmhackett says:

    Goals are always a good thing to have, one of my excersise goals is to stick with P90X for the rest of my life, I did have to take a week of because of VBS and an all-nighter with the youth, but I started back up again and it felt great!
    Keep it up, you won’t regreat it!
    P.S. I have read that we are supposed to drink half our body weight in ounces, I know there are several, but I am a fan of than one.

Leave a Reply

